Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reopening School Libraries
Reopening School Libraries Plan - UPDATED 2021-2022
Reopening School Libraries Plan
School libraries are critical to teaching and learning for all students. As educators, it is important that we continue to provide services to our students, teachers, and families via remote and blended learning practices. This includes access to print and non-print resources, as well as instruction.
Due to the rapidly changing guidance being disseminated from the REopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums Project, as well as the CDC, we have linked directly to these organizations for the most current research, benchmarks, and recommendations. Please stay current with the research on safe practices and email email@example.com with questions and concerns.
REalm Project - Reopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums Project
The REalm project is a Covid-19 research project determining how long the COVID-19 virus survives on materials that are prevalent in libraries, archives, and museums. The project will draw upon the research to produce authoritative, science-based information on how—or if— materials can be handled to mitigate exposure to staff and visitors.
NYC DOE Citywide Digital Library (CDL) Recommendation Form
The NYC DOE Department of Library Services is charged with developing and curating a diverse and inclusive collection of titles to meet the needs of all students through the SORA eBook platform.
We welcome all recommendations of titles to be included in the collection. All recommendations will be reviewed and vetted by staff from the Department of Library Services. If approved, the title will be considered for the Citywide Digital Library.
We will evaluate all titles for inclusion based on the NYC DOE Collection Development Policy - http://bit.ly/nycdoecollectiondevelopmentpolicy.
Director of Library Services
Library Coordinator, Queens
Library Coordinator, Manhattan
Library Coordinator, The Bronx
Library Coordinator, Brooklyn and Staten Island
Library Services During #COVID19
The Department of Library Services will continue to support public and nonpublic schools, students, teachers, and families during the #COVID19 Pandemic. All of our work will be performed virtually. To reach any team member, please email or post a query on NYCSLIST or sign up for office hours. This is a download of the Translation of Practice for mobile devices.
Share Great Books with Your Students!
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.