Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This collection . . .
The materials in this collection address the concept of social change. Social change, in many forms, has always been the catalyst that alters history. Areas explored in the collection include grassroots movements, political uprisings, how social change affects society, and technology and social media’s impacts on social change. The materials in this collection, both text and film, are geared towards high school students, vary in text complexity and address the Common Core standards need for reading informational texts for argumentative writing.
How This Collection is Used in My School
This collection is used to support the curriculum and use of the Common Core Standards. The contriversial nature of many aspects of social change spark debate and are useful when teaching persuasive and argumentative writing (City Wide Expectations Reading Informational Text Standards 1 and 10 and Writing Standard 1)
How This Collection Can Be Used at Your School
- Collection Development--use the materials to help select vetted materials on social change and activism for your own library.
- Share with administration and faculty
- Digital Resources--integrate the use of the digital materials into lessons
Start a petition or find a cause to champion!
Black Lives Matter
Follow and support the Black Lives Matter movement.
Women's March on Washington
American Civil Liberties Union
She Should Run
An organization that encourages and supports women running for public office.
Culturally Responsive Teaching Resources
Search the MLK Campus Catalog
CCD books can be found on the catalog using the "Copy Category Search"
- Click "Advanced Search"
- Click "Copy Category"
- Click "Social Change"
Highlighted titles from the collection
Rest in Power by
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Trayvon Martin's parents take readers beyond the news cycle with an account only they could give: the intimate story of a tragically foreshortened life and the rise of a movement. On a February evening in 2012, in a small town in central Florida, seventeen-year-old Trayvon Martin was walking home with candy and a can of juice in hand and talking on the phone with a friend when a fatal encounter with a gun-wielding neighborhood watchman ended his young life. The watchman was briefly detained by the police and released. Trayvon's father--a truck driver named Tracy--tried to get answers from the police but was shut down and ignored. Trayvon's mother, a civil servant for the city of Miami, was paralyzed by the news of her son's death and lost in mourning, unable to leave her room for days. But in a matter of weeks, their son's name would be spoken by President Obama, honored by professional athletes, and passionately discussed all over traditional and social media. And at the head of a growing nationwide campaign for justice were Trayvon's parents, who--driven by their intense love for their lost son--discovered their voices, gathered allies, and launched a movement that would change the country. Five years after his tragic death, Travyon Martin's name is still evoked every day. He has become a symbol of social justice activism, as has his hauntingly familiar image: the photo of a child still in the process of becoming a young man, wearing a hoodie and gazing silently at the camera. But who was Trayvon Martin, before he became, in death, an icon? And how did one black child's death on a dark, rainy street in a small Florida town become the match that lit a civil rights crusade? Rest in Power, told through the compelling alternating narratives of Sybrina Fulton and Tracy Martin, answers, for the first time, those questions from the most intimate of sources. It's the story of the beautiful and complex child they lost, the cruel unresponsiveness of the police and the hostility of the legal system, and the inspiring journey they took from grief and pain to power, and from tragedy and senselessness to meaning. Praise for Rest in Power "A reminder--not only of Trayvon's life and death but of the vulnerability of black lives in a country that still needs to be reminded they matter."--USA Today "A brave, heart-rending narrative from the parents who lost their son far too soon."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Remarkably candid and deeply affecting."--Booklist (starred review)
Daring to Drive by
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
A ferociously intimate memoir by a devout woman from a modest family in Saudi Arabia who became the unexpected leader of a courageous movement to support women's right to drive. Manal al-Sharif grew up in Mecca the second daughter of a taxi driver, born the year fundamentalism took hold. In her adolescence, she was a religious radical, melting her brother's boy band cassettes in the oven because music was haram: forbidden by Islamic law. But what a difference an education can make. By her twenties she was a computer security engineer, one of few women working in a desert compound that resembled suburban America. That's when the Saudi kingdom's contradictions became too much to bear: she was labeled a slut for chatting with male colleagues, her teenage brother chaperoned her on a business trip, and while she kept a car in her garage, she was forbidden from driving down city streets behind the wheel. Daring to Drive is the fiercely intimate memoir of an accidental activist, a powerfully vivid story of a young Muslim woman who stood up to a kingdom of men--and won. Writing on the cusp of history, Manal offers a rare glimpse into the lives of women in Saudi Arabia today. Her memoir is a remarkable celebration of resilience in the face of tyranny, the extraordinary power of education and female solidarity, and the difficulties, absurdities, and joys of making your voice heard.
Locking up Our Own by
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Long-listed for the National Book Award One of The New York Times Book Review's 10 Best Books of 2017 Short-listed for the Inaugural Goddard Riverside Stephan Russo Book Prize for Social Justice In recent years, America's criminal justice system has become the subject of an increasingly urgent debate. Critics have assailed the rise of mass incarceration, emphasizing its disproportionate impact on people of color. As James Forman, Jr., points out, however, the war on crime that began in the 1970s was supported by many African American leaders in the nation's urban centers. In Locking Up Our Own, he seeks to understand why. Forman shows us that the first substantial cohort of black mayors, judges, and police chiefs took office amid a surge in crime and drug addiction. Many prominent black officials, including Washington, D.C. mayor Marion Barry and federal prosecutor Eric Holder, feared that the gains of the civil rights movement were being undermined by lawlessness--and thus embraced tough-on-crime measures, including longer sentences and aggressive police tactics. In the face of skyrocketing murder rates and the proliferation of open-air drug markets, they believed they had no choice. But the policies they adopted would have devastating consequences for residents of poor black neighborhoods. A former D.C. public defender, Forman tells riveting stories of politicians, community activists, police officers, defendants, and crime victims. He writes with compassion about individuals trapped in terrible dilemmas--from the men and women he represented in court to officials struggling to respond to a public safety emergency. Locking Up Our Own enriches our understanding of why our society became so punitive and offers important lessons to anyone concerned about the future of race and the criminal justice system in this country.
Social Activism by
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
What can you do if you feel strongly about an issue or cause in your community? In this educational text, readers will learn about social activism and how they can participate in inspiring positive changes for our society. They'll discover how to advocate for the changes they wish to see in society by raising awareness, petitioning, protesting, demonstrating, and garnering support. The thought-provoking content engages readers in curricular social studies. Primary sources bring the subject matter into sharp and fascinating focus.
Trashing the Planet by
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
On a global scale, humans create around 2.6 trillion pounds of waste every year. None of this trash is harmless--landfills and dumps leak toxic chemicals into soil and groundwater, while incinerators release toxic gases and particles into the air. What can we do to keep garbage from swallowing up Earth? Reducing, reusing, recycling, and upcycling are some of the answers. Learn more about the work of the US Environmental Protection Agency, the Ocean Cleanup Array, the zero waste movement, and the many other government, business, research, and youth efforts working to solve our planet's garbage crisis.
The Hate U Give by
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Eight Starred Reviews! #1 New York Times Bestseller! "Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds "Stunning." —John Green "This story is necessary. This story is important." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Heartbreakingly topical." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A marvel of verisimilitude." —Booklist (starred review) "A powerful, in-your-face novel." —The Horn Book (starred review) Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr. But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.
When We Fight, We Win by
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Same-sex marriage, #BlackLivesMatter, the DREAM Act, the People's Climate March, End the New Jim Crow, Occupy Wall Street, the fight for a $15 minimum wage--these are just a few of the remarkable movements that have blossomed in the past decade, a most fertile and productive era of activism. Now, in a visually rich and deeply inspiring book, the leaders and activists of these and other movements distill their wisdom, sharing lessons of what makes--and what hinders--transformative social change. Longtime social activist Greg Jobin-Leeds joins forces with AgitArte, a collective of artists and organizers, to capture the stories, philosophy, tactics, and art of today's leading social change movements. When We Fight, We Win! weaves together interviews with today's most successful activists and artists from across the country and beyond--including Patrisse Cullors-Brignac, Bill McKibben, Clayton Thomas-Muller, Karen Lewis, Favianna Rodriguez, Rea Carey, and Gaby Pacheco, among others--with narrative recountings of strategies and campaigns alongside full-color photos. It includes a foreword by Rinku Sen and an afterword by Antonia Darder. When We Fight, We Win! will give a whole generation of readers the chance to celebrate and benefit from a remarkable decade of activism--a decade that shows just how ripe these times are for social transformation.
When Women Win by
Publication Date: 2016-03-08
The dramatic inside story of the rise of women in elected office over the past quarter-century, from the pioneering founder of three-million-member EMILY's List -- one of the most influential players in today's political landscape In 1985, aware of the near-total absence of women in Congress, Ellen R. Malcolm launched EMILY's List, a powerhouse political organization that seeks to ignite change by getting women elected to office. The rest is riveting history: Between 1986 -- when there were only 12 Democratic women in the House and none in the Senate -- and now, EMILY's List has helped elect 19 women Senators, 11 governors, and 110 Democratic women to the House. Incorporating exclusive interviews with Hillary Clinton, Nancy Pelosi, Tammy Baldwin, and others,When Women Win delivers stories of some of the toughest political contests of the past three decades, including the historic victory of Barbara Mikulski as the first Democratic woman elected to the Senate in her own right; the defeat of Todd Akin ("legitimate rape") by Claire McCaskill; and Elizabeth Warren's dramatic win over incumbent Massachusetts senator Scott Brown. When Women Winincludes Malcolm's own story -- the high drama of Anita Hill's sexual harassment testimony against Clarence Thomas and its explosive effects on women's engagement in electoral politics; the long nights spent watching the polls after months of dogged campaigning; the heartbreaking losses and unprecedented victories -- but it's also a page-turning political saga that may well lead up to the election of the first woman president of the United States.
Teresa Tartaglione, Librarian
Martin Luther King, Jr. Educational Campus
122 Amsterdam Ave New York, NY 10023
If you are a librarian in a New York City school library, you may contact the curator to inquire about borrowing titles from this collection.
Primary Source Sets--Digital Public Library of America
Harvard Resistance School
"Resistance School provides training for communities to make issue-based and electoral progressive change that advance values of fairness, equity, and inclusivity."
The Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign is the largest LGBT civil rights advocacy group and political lobbying organization in the United States.
New York Based Social Change Organizations
Follow the hashtags that matter to you or share your stories online.
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.