Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About the Collection
Launched in 2008, the Cooking collection is geared to the needs and interests of elementary school students and their families. The collection encompasses all aspects of food—from growing to harvesting, preparation, and consumption. The materials address topics including individual ingredients, regional cuisines, historical periods, as well as nutrition, and careers in cooking. Branching out from traditional cookbooks written for children, the Cooking collection also includes food- and cooking-themed fiction, picture books, and poetry, as well as professional resources for teaching with these materials.
Cheryl Wolf, Librarian
The Neighborhood School (P.S. 363) and S.T.A.R. Academy (P.S. 363)
121 East 3rd Street
New York, NY 10002
Chef Roy Choi and the Street Food Remix by Chef Roy Choi calls himself a "street cook." He wants outsiders, low-riders, kids, teens, shufflers and skateboarders, to have food cooked with care, with love, with sohn maash. "Sohn maash" is the flavors in our fingertips. It is the love and cooking talent that Korean mothers and grandmothers mix into their handmade foods. For Chef Roy Choi, food means love. It also means culture, not only of Korea where he was born, but the many cultures that make up the streets of Los Angeles, where he was raised. So remixing food from the streets, just like good music--and serving it up from a truck--is true to L.A. food culture. People smiled and talked as they waited in line. Won't you join him as he makes good food smiles?
Call Number: 641.5 MAR
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Fanny in France by
Call Number: 641.59 WAT
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
Fanny is a girl who knows a lot about food and cooking since she's grown up in and around the famous restaurant Chez Panisse in Berkeley, California. When Fanny's mother, Alice Waters, the chef and owner of Chez Panisse, starts to watch her favorite old French movies, Fanny knows soon they'll be packing their bags and traveling to France for a visit. In this sparkling book of whimsical stories, Fanny recounts some of her most fun-filled adventures with French friends and food. Join Fanny as she helps cook a huge bouillabaissein Provence; learns how to make fresh cheese from a shepherd high up in the Pyrenees mountains; hunts for wild oysters off the coast of Bordeaux, and discovers how one chicken can feed nine people, if served a certain way. Fanny in Franceis also a beginner's cookbook with forty simple, French-inspired recipes that encourage children and adults anywhere to cook and share delicious snacks and meals with family and friends using basic methods and the most sustainable ingredients.
The Forest Feast for Kids by
Call Number: 641.5 GLE
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
The Forest Feast for Kids includes the most kid-friendly favorites from The Forest Feast, along with 20 new recipes, plus ideas for kids' parties and easy-to-follow instructions on techniques, measurements, and other helpful kitchen aides. The first children's cookbook from New York Times bestselling author and popular food blogger Erin Gleeson, The Forest Feast for Kids, serves up kid-friendly vegetarian recipes that are quick, easy, and fun to make. This cookbook showcases the rustic simplicity of the fare through vibrant colorful photography of Gleeson's beautiful home in the woods and of children cooking the dishes themselves. Each meal is simple and full of fresh and lively flavors that will appeal to kids. The natural beauty of Gleeson's surroundings and the abundance of local produce serve as the inspiration for recipes such as: Pesto Pepper Pizza Rainbow Chard Quiche Kale Tacos Watermelon Smoothies In addition to its recipes--which span meals, party food, snacks, and beverages--this nonfiction book includes ideas for crafty table decoration, party ideas, an illustrated guide on kitchen safety, and a glossary of culinary terms. The recipes are complemented by a mix of stunning photographs and art, including Gleeson's own fanciful watercolor illustrations and hand lettering. This beautifully designed kid-friendly cookbook is perfect for foodies and parents looking for healthy recipes for children. It will also appeal to fans of Erin Gleeson's blog and The Forest Feast. Parents.com says "Have you ever wanted to crawl into a cookbook and live in its world? That's how I feel when I page through Erin Gleeson's gorgeous The Forest Feast for Kids." Also available from Erin Gleeson:The Forest Feast: Simple Vegetarian Recipes from My Cabin in the WoodsandThe Forest Feast Gatherings.
Call Number: 861 ARG
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Now available in paperback, Guacamole is the third title of Jorge Argueta's popular bilingual Cooking Poems series, celebrating the joys of preparing, eating and sharing food. Guacamole originated in Mexico with the Aztecs and has long been popular in North America, especially in recent years due to the many health benefits of avocados. This version of the recipe is easy to make, calling for just avocados, limes, cilantro and salt. A little girl dons her apron, singing and dancing around the kitchen as she shows us what to do. Poet Jorge Argueta sees beauty, magic and fun in everything around him -- avocados are like green precious stones, salt falls like rain, cilantro looks like a little tree and the spoon that scoops the avocado from its skin is like a tractor. As in all the titles in this series, Guacamole conveys the pleasure of making something delicious to eat for people you really love. A great book for families to enjoy together.
The Hole Story of the Doughnut by
Call Number: B GREGORY
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
In 1843, fourteen-year-old Hanson Gregory left his family home in Rockport, Maine, and set sail as a cabin boy on the schooner Achorn, looking for high-stakes adventure on the high seas. Little did he know that a boatload of hungry sailors, coupled with his knack for creative problem-solving, would yield one of the world's most prized and beloved pastries. Lively and inventive cut-paper illustrations add a taste of whimsy to this sweet, fact-filled story that includes an extensive bibliography, author's note, and timeline.
The World in My Kitchen by
Call Number: 641.8 BRO
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
Imagine a book that transports kids thousands of miles away with the fresh, healthy dishes of different lands. This book leads little people to explore countries and cuisines to try themselves. Simple recipes, using fresh, healthy and easy-to-source ingredients, with suggested substitutions, will open up different tastes, aromas and cuisines.
The Young Chef by
Call Number: 641.5 AIN
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Learn how to cook and think like a chef from the best of the best--the experts at The Culinary Institute of America Aspiring chefs turn to The Culinary Institute of America for top-tier training--and now younger cooks can too. Coauthored by chef-instructor (and parent) Mark Ainsworth, this book is for kids ages ten to fourteen who love to cook or who want to learn how, from the perspective of the nation's best culinary college. It begins with techniques--from key cooking methods to staying safe in the kitchen to how food fuels your body--then augments those lessons with more than one hundred recipes for dishes that kids (and their families and friends) will love, from Chinese "Takeout" Chicken and Broccoli to Mexican Street Corn Salad to DIY Hummus to Raspberry Shave Ice. These recipes are easy enough that beginners can try them with confidence, but are loaded with insider tips, fun facts, kitchen vocab, and other teaching moments so that more adventurous junior cooks can use them as a springboard to take their skills to the next level, express their culinarycreativity, and have fun in the kitchen!
Recipes from across the U.S.A. , with state food symbols and state agricultural products
Cooking Classes for Kids in New York City
Mini chefs can learn their way around the kitchen, practice basic safety and techniques, and whip up tasty dishes in these cooking classes for kids.
The Food Museum: Exploring and Celebrating Food
An online museum dedicated to discovering, exploring and promoting the world's foods, their histories, and relevance today.
Food Network: Cooking with Kids
Check out easy kid-friendly recipes and tips from Food Network to get the whole family in the kitchen.
The Food Timeline
Ever wonder how the ancient Romans fed their armies? What the pioneers cooked along the Oregon Trail? Who invented the potato chip...and why? So do we!!! Food history presents a fascinating buffet of popular lore and contradictory facts. Some experts say it's impossible to express this topic in exact timeline format. They are correct. Most foods are not invented; they evolve. We make food history fun.
The Great American Potluck
From the Library of Congress, a database of recipes from immigrants from around the world, and the stories behind them.
Garden education site; includes "Edible Gardens" section.
Kids Cooking Activities
This site provides simple recipes and how-to videos for kids, as well as tips for safety and ease.
The Kids Cooking Network
A "Virtual Kids' Food News Magazine™"
A great selection of children's cookbooks and recipes.
Science of Cooking
Discover how a pinch of curiosity can improve your cooking! Explore recipes, activities, and Webcasts that will enhance your understanding of the science behind food and cooking.
Spatulatta: Cooking for Kids
This website provides recipes that kids can help make with an adult. The creators of this website wrote a cookbook called "The Spatulatta Cookbook" by Isabella and Olivia Gerasole.
Young Chefs Program
Hand-on cooking education resources. Includes lesson plans for instructor use, in addition to a number of recipes for an academic or home setting.
YouTube Child Chefs (Sweets Upon Sweets)
This collection . . .
Launched in 2008, the Cooking collection is geared to the needs and interests of elementary school students and their families. The collection encompasses all aspects of food—from growing, to harvesting, preparation, and consumption. The materials address topics including individual ingredients, regional cuisines, historical periods, as well as nutrition and careers in cooking. Branching out from traditional cookbooks written for children, the Cooking collection also includes food- and cooking-themed fiction, picture books, and poetry, as well as professional resources for teaching with these materials.
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email email@example.com, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.