Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: Immigration
Sora Titles
Curator Info
Celia Dillon
cdillon6@schools.nyc.gov
PS 89 Cypress Hills Community School Librarian
265 Warwick Street
Brooklyn, NY 11217
How This Collection is Used in my School
As a school with many Newcomer students, this collection helps students see themselves and their experiences reflected in the books they read. Books in this collection also help build context and background knowledge for an 8th Grade inquiry-based investigation about immigrations in a historical context.
Citywide Digital Library
Click the image above to browse this CCD collection in Sora.
NYHS Resources & Facing History Resources
Women & the American Story (WAMS) is a free curriculum website from the New-York Historical Society. WAMS connects educators with classroom resources that illuminate diverse women’s contributions to the American past.
Facing History & Ourselves uses lessons of history to challenge teachers and their students to stand up to bigotry and hate.
Additional Resources
- Angel Island Immigration Station FoundationAIISF collects the stories of immigrants entering the US from the Pacific. These stories are shared through education initiatives and public programs.
- First Days ProjectThe First Days Project was started in 2013. Immigrants share the story of their first day in the United States.
- Immigration Data - Department of Homeland SecurityThe Office of Immigration Statistics collects information to be used in evaluating the impact of immigration laws. Information available includes statistics on permanent residents, refugee/asylum seekers, illegal immigrant populations, and border security.
- Immigration Timeline - The Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island FoundationAn overview of immigration in the United States. Each section relays important events that occurred during the selected time range.
- National Archives - Immigration RecordsThe National Archives provides access to immigrant entry records and other immigration topics in our nation's history.
- Tenement MuseumExplore immigration statistics and stories through the Tenement Museum in New York City.
- TRAC ImmigrationThe Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse on Immigration uses the Freedom of Information Act to provide research on government agency reports on immigration, immigration caseloads and outcomes, border patrol reports, deportation proceedings and more. There is also a glossary of immigration terms.
- US Citizenship and Immigration ServicesUSCIS is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. This website has online resources for those seeking information and forms for US immigration services.
- Your Story, Our StoryPeople across the country are invited to post their immigration story and/or photos of important objects about different cultures.