Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: STEM

• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.

About the STEM Collection

STEM logo hand-drawn colored

The materials in this collection are for everyone in New York and address the topics of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) in print resources. Areas explored in this collection include, but are not limited to, environmental science, climate change, ecology, sustainability, transportation, forensics, zoology, geology, space sciences, applied mathematics, and making & tinkering. While the collection focuses on narrative non-fiction not included in a set/series published within the last 5 years, resources are available in many formats - graphic novels, biographies, and both non-fiction and fiction texts. The materials in this collection, both text and digital, are geared towards middle- and high-school students, and vary in text complexity in order to address the Common Core standards for informational resources.

 

How This Collection Is Used

This collection is used to compliment curriculum at our campus across grades 6 though 12. All of our campus schools have a focus on STEM/STEAM and/or exploratory learning. These resources are not limited to math and science - they can be used in all content areas and to supplement research as well as stimulate interest in diverse choice reading.

Highlighted Titles

Search the Catalog

Curator

Rachel Green Avatar

Rachel Green, Librarian

Westinghouse Campus Library

105 Tech Place

Brooklyn, NY 11201

718-625-6130 x3441

E-mail: rgreen39@schools.nyc.gov

Twitter: @BklynLibrarian

Instagram: @SteamLibrarian

http://bit.ly/westinghousecampuslibrary

Web Resources

The following links tabulate award-winning and recommended informational books and were referenced to build this collection.

Professional & Educational Resources

The following links provide resources for educators to extend this collection into their curriculum:

Related MyLibraryNYC Teacher Sets

Educators participating in MyLibraryNYC may borrow teacher sets to supplement their classroom curriculum. You can set up your account at https://www.mylibrarynyc.org/. The following are a FEW of the many STEM-related "Topic Sets" (1 copy of each of about 10 books) available through MyLibraryNYC. 

  • Science Poetry for Middle Grade (Grades 3-8) 
  • HIV/AIDS and Other STDs (Grades 9-12)
  • The Humane Treatment of Animals (Grades 10-12)
  • Introduction to Coding with Board Game (Grades 5-10)
  • Women of Science (Grades 8-12)
  • Career Explorations (Grades 6-12)
  • Informational Texts with Playaway Audiobook (Grades 6-12)
  • Architecture: A STEM Discipline (Grades 4-8)
  • Scientific Advancements & Technology (Grades 4-8)
  • Assorted Earth Science & Environmental Science Texts with DVDs (Grades 4-8)
  • STEM Manga Guide To Series (Grades 8-12)
  • Artificial Intelligence & Automation (Grades 7-12)
  • Science Comic Series (Grades 4-8)
  • Award Winners - YALSA Non-fiction Award (Grades 7-12)
  • STEM Graphic Novels (Grades 6-8)

 

The following are a FEW of the "Book Club" sets (10 copies of 1 book) available at MyLibraryNYC.

  • Charles & Emma by Deborah Heiligman (Grades 6-8)
  • Meaning of it All - Thoughts of a Citizen Scientist by Richard P. Feynman (Grades 9+)
  • Tracking Trash by Loree Griffin Burns (Grades 6-8)
  • Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure by Hans Magnus Enzensberger (Grades 6-8)
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted. We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.