Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This collection . . .
This collection is for everyone in New York, and includes the following:
- Materials about and for LGBTQ+ students & adults
- Resources on contemporary and historial LGBTQ+ issues such as gay marriage & the gay liberation movement
- Services for librarians who need to add LGBTQ+ materials to their collections.
New! CCD ebook Collection available in Sora!
2021 Rainbow Book List
The 2021 Rainbow Book List has been released! This list includes materials for all students (preK-12) and has short descriptions of each title. Fantastic list this year!
Sources for book reviews & book lists
I'm Here, I'm Queer, Now What do I Read?
Lee Wind provides an immense number of reviews (some submitted by authors), including manga. Of particular note is a series of lists on the left-hand side of the blog which "sort" books into categories--helpful if you need to fill gaps in your collection.
GLBTRT: Rainbow Books
Book lists from the last decade. An excellent resource.
YA Pride: LGBTQIA+ characters in YA fiction & LGBTQ YA Authors
This blog has reviews, teen stories & lots of good information about what is going on in publishing as it relates to YA fiction.
We Need Diverse Books OurStory
A great book finder for all kinds of diverse books.
The Stonewall Book Awards
The first and most enduring award for GLBTQ books.
Disability in KidLit
There are some LGBTQIA books reviewed, and it's important to think of disabled kids within the LGBTQIA community. The Honor Roll is now their focus.
Gay-Themed Picture Books for Children
A blog run by our very own Patricia Sarles!
Queer Books for Teens
This is a “comprehensive database of LGBTQIAP+ YA Literature 2000-2017.” Not a list of book recommendations, though they do have a best books section—Kyle Lukoff curated one of the lists.
Lambda Literary Reviews, Features, & Interviews
Lamba Literary is a great resource to follow for up-to-date releases of young adult and adult writing about and for the LGBTQI community.
ALA: GLBTRT (GLBT Round Table) News
Use this page to subscribe to their quarterly newsletter. This is the ALA GLBTQ organization, which gives a number of prestigious literary awards, as well as consolidating information of interest to GLBTQ members & those that serve GLBTQ people (everyone!)
Andrea Swenson, Librarian
East Side Community
420 E. 12th St.
NY, NY 10009
If you are a librarian in a New York City school library, you may contact the curator to inquire about borrowing titles from this collection.
Pride Parade from NYC Librarians!
LGBTQIA+ Collection in Sora!
Highlighted titles from the collection
Scroll down to see research materials!
Felix Ever After by
From Stonewall and Lambda Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time. Felix Love has never been in love--and, yes, he's painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it's like and why it seems so easy for everyone but him to find someone. What's worse is that, even though he is proud of his identity, Felix also secretly fears that he's one marginalization too many--Black, queer, and transgender--to ever get his own happily-ever-after. When an anonymous student begins sending him transphobic messages--after publicly posting Felix's deadname alongside images of him before he transitioned--Felix comes up with a plan for revenge. What he didn't count on: his catfish scenario landing him in a quasi-love triangle.... But as he navigates his complicated feelings, Felix begins a journey of questioning and self-discovery that helps redefine his most important relationship: how he feels about himself. Felix Ever After is an honest and layered story about identity, falling in love, and recognizing the love you deserve. *Available on Sora*
Juliet Takes a Breath by
Juliet Milagros Palante is a self-proclaimed closeted Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx. Only, she's not so closeted anymore. Not after coming out to her family the night before flying to Portland, Oregon, to intern with her favorite feminist writer--what's sure to be a life-changing experience. And when Juliet's coming out crashes and burns, she's not sure her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan--sort of. Her internship with legendary author Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women's bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff, is sure to help her figure out this whole "Puerto Rican lesbian" thing. Except Harlowe's white. And not from the Bronx. And she definitely doesn't have all the answers . . . In a summer bursting with queer brown dance parties, a sexy fling with a motorcycling librarian, and intense explorations of race and identity, Juliet learns what it means to come out--to the world, to her family, to herself. *Available on Sora*
Gender Queer: a Memoir by
In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates, friends, and humans everywhere. "It's also a great resource for those who identify as nonbinary or asexual as well as for those who know someone who identifies that way and wish to better understand." -- SLJ (starred review)
The Henna Wars by
When Nishat comes out to her parents, they say she can be anyone she wants--as long as she isn't herself. Because Muslim girls aren't lesbians. Nishat doesn't want to hide who she is, but she also doesn't want to lose her relationship with her family. And her life only gets harder once a childhood friend walks back into her life.Flávia is beautiful and charismatic and Nishat falls for her instantly. But when a school competition invites students to create their own businesses, both Flávia and Nishat choose to do henna, even though Flávia is appropriating Nishat's culture. Amidst sabotage and school stress, their lives get more tangled--but Nishat can't quite get rid of her crush on Flávia, and realizes there might be more to her than she realized. *Available on Sora*
A Quick and Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns by
"A great, simple look at the importance of using correct pronouns; extremely accessible to those for whom gender-neutral language is a new concept." -- School Library Journal (starred review) Archie, a snarky genderqueer artist, is tired of people not understanding gender neutral pronouns. Tristan, a cisgender dude, is looking for an easy way to introduce gender neutral pronouns to his increasingly diverse workplace. The longtime best friends team up in this short and fun comic guide that explains what pronouns are, why they matter, and how to use them. They also include what to do if you make a mistake, and some tips-and-tricks for those who identify outside of the binary to keep themselves safe in this binary-centric world. A quick and easy resource for people who use they/them pronouns, and people who want to learn more!
Redwood and Ponytail by
Kate and Tam meet, and both of their worlds tip sideways. At first, Tam figures Kate is your stereotypical cheerleader; Kate sees Tam as another tall jock. And the more they keep running into each other, the more they surprise each other. Beneath Kate's sleek ponytail and perfect façade, Tam sees a goofy, sensitive, lonely girl. And Tam's so much more than a volleyball player, Kate realizes: She's everything Kate wishes she could be. It's complicated. Except it's not. When Kate and Tam meet, they fall in like. It's as simple as that. But not everybody sees it that way. This novel in verse about two girls discovering their feelings for each other is a universal story of finding a way to be comfortable in your own skin. *Available on Sora*
All Boys Aren't Blue by
In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first sexual relationships, this young-adult memoir weaves together the trials and triumphs faced by Black queer boys. Both a primer for teens eager to be allies as well as a reassuring testimony for young queer men of color, All Boys Aren't Blue covers topics such as gender identity, toxic masculinity, brotherhood, family, structural marginalization, consent, and Black joy. Johnson's emotionally frank style of writing will appeal directly to young adults. *Available on Sora*
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team by
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and Shelly (aka Bomb Shell) have dreamed of becoming roller derby superstars. When Austin's city league introduces a brand-new junior league, the dynamic duo celebrates! But they'll need to try out as a five-person team. Kenzie and Shelly have just one week to convince three other girls that roller derby is the coolest thing on wheels. But Kenzie starts to have second thoughts when Shelly starts acting like everyone's best friend . . . Isn't she supposed to be Kenzie's best friend? And things get really awkward when Shelly recruits Kenzie's neighbor (and secret crush!) for the team. With lots of humor and an authentic middle-grade voice, book one of this illustrated series follows Kenzie, Shelly, and the rest of the Derby Daredevils as they learn how to fall--and get back up again. *Available on Sora*
The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by
Port of Spain, Trinidad: Sixteen-year-old Audre is despondent, having just found out she's going to be sent to live in America with her father because her strictly religious mother caught her with her secret girlfriend, the pastor's daughter. Minneapolis: Mabel’s father announces that his best friend and his just-arrived-from-Trinidad daughter are coming for dinner. Mabel quickly falls hard for Audre and is determined to take care of her as she tries to navigate an American high school. But their romance takes a turn when test results reveal exactly why Mabel has been feeling low-key sick all summer and suddenly it's Audre who is caring for Mabel as she faces a deeply uncertain future. Junauda Petrus's debut brilliantly captures the distinctly lush and lyrical voices of Mabel and Audre as they conjure a love that is stronger than hatred, prison, and death and as vast as the blackness between the stars. *Available on Sora*
Ricks gone along with his best friend Jeff even when Jeffs acted like a bully and a jerk. But now Rick wants his own life to be... understood. Even if it means breaking some old friendships and making some new ones. As they did in their groundbreaking novel George, in Rick, award-winning author Alex Gino explores what it means to search for your own place in the world... and all the steps you and the people around you need to take in order to get where you need to be.
A Queer History of the United States for Young People by
It is crucial for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer youth to know their history. But this history is not easy to find since it's rarely taught in schools or commemorated in other ways. A Queer History of the United States for Young People corrects this and demonstrates that LGBTQ people have long been vital to shaping our understanding of what America is today. Through engrossing narratives, letters, drawings, poems, and more, the book encourages young readers, of all identities, to feel pride at the accomplishments of the LGBTQ people who came before them and to use history as a guide to the future.
Transgender 101 by
Written by a social worker, popular educator, and member of the transgender community, this well-rounded resource combines an accessible portrait of transgenderism with a rich history of transgender life and its unique experiences of discrimination.
A Queer History of the United States by
Winner of a 2012 Stonewall Book Award in nonfiction The first book to cover the entirety of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history, from pre-1492 to the present.
Gay Power! by
In this riveting story, we'll explore the decades of discrimination and abuse that gay people endured in the United States. We'll also learn how gay people continue to fight for equal rights and recognition.
The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues by
Author and gender studies professor Susan Burgess showcases relevant news stories, editorials, and letters to the editor to present the major political, social, and cultural issues that have affected gays and lesbians in the U.S. over the past 150 years.
Gay America by
Milestones of gay and lesbian life in the United States are brought together in the first-ever nonfiction book published specifically for teens. Profusely illustrated with archival images, the groundbreaking Gay America reveals how gay men and women have lived, worked, and loved for the past 125 years. The book includes a bibliography and an index.
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves is a revolutionary resource - a comprehensive, reader-friendly guide for transgender people, with each chapter written by transgender or genderqueer authors. Inspired by Our Bodies, Ourselves, the classic and powerful compendium written for and by women, Trans Bodies,Trans Selves is widely accessible to the transgender population, providing authoritative information in an inclusive and respectful way and representing the collective knowledge base of dozens of influential experts.
Queer America by
Organised with a compelling narrative, this comprehensive history of the GLBT community provides a decade-by-decade overview of major issues and events such as the Harlem Renaissance, changes in military policy, the Stonewall riot, GLBT rights, organisations and alliances, AIDS, same-sex marriage, the media and legal battles.
A Supreme Court lawyer and political pundit details the enthralling and groundbreaking story of the gay rights movement, revealing how a dedicated and resourceful minority changed America forever.
Gay Lives by
In this book, Robert Aldrich presents a fascinating portrait of gay men and women throughout history that reveals the full diversity of gay lives as lived in their times.
A riveting exploration of the Stonewall Riots and the national Gay Rights movement that followed is eye-opening, unflinching, and inspiring.
The Riddle of Gender by
Coming at the controversial subject of transsexualism from several angles: historical, sociological, psychological, medical, Rudacille discovered that gender variance is anything but new, that changing one's gender has been met with both acceptance and hostility through the years, and that gender identity, like sexual orientation, appears to be inborn, not learned, though in some people the sex of the body does not match the sex of the brain. Informed not only by meticulous research, but also by the author's interviews with prominent members of the transgender community, The Riddle of Gender is a sympathetic and wise look at a sexual revolution that calls into question many of our most deeply held assumptions about what it means to be a man, a woman, and a human being.
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.