Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Crime and Rehabilitation
"Crime and Rehabilitation" is a collection of materials. geared towards high school students, about crime and recovery from crime.
This collection supports a variety of academic disciplines, including
- Global History, US History and US Government curricula (including New York State Social Studies Framework 10.10, 11.10. 12.G2)
- Argumentative writing (Next Generation ELA Writing Standard 1)
- College and Career Readiness
It is my hope that users of this collection will enjoy the resources as much as I enjoy cultivating this engaging exciting collection!
My collection is about...
- Acts of crime
- The criminal justice system in the United States
- Methods of solving crimes
- Criminal justice careers
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
In 1751, David Balfour, a Scottish boy, is cheated out of his inheritance by his uncle, who has him kidnapped, sold as a slave, and thrown onto a ship--but with the help of a fugitive, David fights his captors, makes a daring escape amidst a shipwreck, and hopes to survive a treacherous journey home.
Lethal Weapons by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
"America has been called a nation of guns. Given that there are as many firearms as people in the United States comes as no surprise. Yet of all the issues that divide Americans, none drives them farther apart than the balance between gun rights and gun control. ""Lethal Weapons"" looks at the history of guns in the U.S., stopping at key moments along the way to examine the great debates that have altered the course of national policy on the right to bear arms. Young readers will discover that the arguments over gun control today are remarkably similar to the social, political, and economic questions that have sparked controversy for more than a century. ""Lethal Weapons"" engages young readers and provides them with the context and history needed to join the debate on these issues...and ultimately issues the challenge to Find Your Voice. Aligns with Common Core Language Arts Anchor Standards for Reading Informational Text and Speaking and Listening. Text contains critical thinking components in regards to social issues and history."
Supreme Court Drama by
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Provides details on key events, people and outcomes of numerous major Supreme Court decisions that had a significant impact on American society.
Just Mercy (Movie)
A powerful and thoughtprovoking true story, “Just Mercy” follows young lawyer Bryan Stevenson (Jordan) and his history-making battle for justice. After graduating from Harvard, Bryan had his pick of lucrative jobs. Instead, he heads to Alabama to defend those wrongly condemned or who were not afforded proper representation, with the support of local advocate Eva Ansley (Larson). One of his first, and most incendiary, cases is that of Walter McMillian (Foxx), who, in 1987, was sentenced to die for the notorious murder of an 18-year-old girl, despite a preponderance of evidence proving his innocence and the fact that the only testimony against him came from a criminal with a motive to lie. In the years that follow, Bryan becomes embroiled in a labyrinth of legal and political maneuverings and overt and unabashed racism as he fights for Walter, and others like him, with the odds—and the system—stacked against them.
Hey, Kiddo by
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
A National Book Award Finalist! In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery -- Jarrett doesn't know where to find him, or even what his name is. Jarrett lives with his grandparents -- two very loud, very loving, very opinionated people who had thought they were through with raising children until Jarrett came along. Jarrett goes through his childhood trying to make his non-normal life as normal as possible, finding a way to express himself through drawing even as so little is being said to him about what's going on. Only as a teenager can Jarrett begin to piece together the truth of his family, reckoning with his mother and tracking down his father. Hey, Kiddo is a profoundly important memoir about growing up in a family grappling with addiction, and finding the art that helps you survive.
Criminal Justice Collection
This database contains information about on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
This database contains information on both sides of an issue about a variety of topics.
Suggested MyLibraryNYC Teacher Sets
Go to MyLibraryNYC to order these Teacher Sets:
- Guns and Violence in America with DVD
- Informational Texts with PlayAway AudioBook
- Supreme Court Cases
High School for Law Enforcement and Public Safety Online Catalog
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.