Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: Lesson Suggestions
Lesson Suggestions Using the Crime and Rehabilitation Collection
Lesson #1
Possible Curriculum Connections: English, US Government, Criminology
Aim: Should the death penalty exist in the US states?
Information Fluency Continuum Standards:
Standard 1: Inquiry and Design Thinking
NYS Next Generation Standards:
Writing Standard 7 - Gather relevant information from multiple sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas; avoid plagiarism, overreliance on one source, and follow a standard format for citation.
Objectives: Students will be able to locate resources for their research project about the death penalty, using resources presented by Mrs. Davis (librarian).
Development:
Students will use the Crime and Rehabilitation CCD Collection to research the death penalty in the United States. The final product could be a class debate over whether or not the death penalty should be legal in the US. The final product could be a Prezi, a Buncee, or a PowerPoint presentation arguing that the death penalty should be legal/illegal in the US.
- Opposing ViewpointsThis database contains information on both sides of an issue about a variety of topics.
Capital Punishment by ISBN: 9781422234730Publication Date: 2016-01-01Capital punishment--the ultimate penalty--is one of the most controversial aspects of America's criminal justice system. Its inclusion in the U.S. constitution sparks heated debate with opponents claiming that it is incompatible with the principles on which the world's greatest democracy stands. Although the death penalty has been around for thousands of years, modern America has changed it in fundamental ways. These days no criminal is put to death lightly. The imposition of the death penalty is subject to an elaborate array of legal restrictions; the convicted are entitled to an extensive--often drawn out--series of appeals. Each title in this series contains a foreword from the Chairman of the National Law Enforcement Association, color photos throughout, charts, and back matter including: an index, chronology, and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text-Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the chapter they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and provide readers with suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. And a Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the reader's knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.
The History of Punishment by ISBN: 9781422234877Publication Date: 2016-01-01No nation in history has valued individual freedom more highly than the United States of America. Its people's right to "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness" is enshrined in the Constitution. But even the most free, democratic society cannot allow its members to do entirely as they want. Every civilization has had its code of values, its system of laws--and each has defended that system by punishing wrongdoers. America has led the world in developing and upholding an even-handed, humane, and accountable criminal-justice system. Although an impressive achievement, there are few signs of an end to crime. Where have we gone wrong? Have we tried too hard to be lenient or have we, on the contrary, brutalized offenders with harsh and unfair punishments? As enthralling as it is illuminating, this book sets our current situation in its longer-term perspective, tracing the history of punishment from the earliest times to the present day. Each title in this series contains a foreword from the Chairman of the National Law Enforcement Association, color photos throughout, charts, and back matter including: an index, chronology, and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text-Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the chapter they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and provide readers with suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. And a Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the reader's knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.
No Choirboy by ISBN: 9781250044457Publication Date: 2014-08-12No Choirboytakes readers inside America's prisons and allows inmates sentenced to death as teenagers to speak for themselves. In their own voices--raw and uncensored--they talk about their lives in prison and share their thoughts and feelings about how they ended up there. Susan Kuklin also gets inside the system, exploring capital punishment itself and the intricacies and inequities of criminal justice in the United States. This is a searing, unforgettable read, and one that could change the way we think about crime and punishment. No Choirboy: Murder, Violence, and Teenagers on Death Row is a 2009 Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year.
Lesson #2
Possible Curriculum Connections: US History, US Government, Criminology
Aim: How do US Supreme Court justices make decisions?
Information Fluency Continuum Standards:
Standard 3: Demonstrating Social Responsibility
NYS Next Generation Standards:
Writing Standard 7 - Gather relevant information from multiple sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas; avoid plagiarism, overreliance on one source, and follow a standard format for citation.
Objectives: Students will be able to locate resources for their mock trials of US Supreme Court cases, using resources presented by Mrs. Davis (librarian).
Development:
Students will use the Crime and Rehabilitation CCD Collection to research the various US Supreme Court cases. The final product could be a mock trial in the HSLEAPS courtroom.
- US Supreme Court WebsiteGood source for information about US Supreme Court cases.
Supreme Court Drama by ISBN: 9781414486611Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Justice for All by ISBN: 9781534568648Publication Date: 2019-12-15Black Americans and their allies have sought to use the U.S. court system as a tool in their fight for civil rights, sometimes successfully and sometimes not. However, certain court decisions, especially those handed down by the U.S. Supreme Court, have led to real change. This comprehensive look at landmark civil rights cases gives readers an understanding of the evolution of the civil rights movement through the lens of legal battles. The detailed sidebars, historical and contemporary images, and annotated quotes also give them the tools to understand the complex issues that are still in the headlines today.
Lesson #3
Possible Curriculum Connections: College and Career Readiness, Career Research Class, College Advisory, Introduction to Law Enforcement, Introduction to Public Safety, Social Media Marketing, Careers in Public Safety, Careers in Social Media
Aim: How can I learn more about the career that interests me?
Information Fluency Continuum Standards:
Standard 2: Pursuing Personal and Aesthetic Growth
NYS Next Generation Standards:
Writing Standard 7 - Gather relevant information from multiple sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas; avoid plagiarism, overreliance on one source, and follow a standard format for citation.
Objectives: Students will be able to locate resources about careers that interest them, using resources presented by Mrs. Davis (librarian).
Development:
Students will use the Crime and Rehabilitation CCD Collection to research careers in criminal justice, among other careers. The final product could be an oral presentation, a brochure created in LucidPress (similar to Microsoft Publisher) (https://app.lucidpress.com/), or FlipGrid about the student’s career of choice.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookGood resource for careers supporting crime rehabilitation.
College Majors and Careers by ISBN: 1438112319Publication Date: 2009-01-01This updated guide helps students make the most out of their field of study and their career.
Undercover Police Officer by ISBN: 9781422234037Publication Date: 2015-01-01Police work hard to investigate crimes. They follow the evidence and talk to witnesses. But sometimes, that's just not enough. When they need to get close to the criminals they pursue, they call on undercover officers. These special experts learn how to "become" a criminal to infiltrate and gather information. It's an intense job that could end in death at any second. Inside, read how officers train for this unique part of law enforcement, the dangers they face, and how their work has been so successful. Adventure, courage, talent . . . and service--they can all be found in the stories of brave men and women who go . . . ON A MISSION. Each title in this series contains color photos, close ups of key tools and technology used on each mission, and back matter including: an index, further reading lists for books and internet resources, and a series glossary. Mason Crest's editorial team has placed Key Icons to Look for throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are then used in the prose throughout that chapter, and are emboldened, so that the reader is able to reference back to the definitions- building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the chapter they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and provide readers with suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. A Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter contains terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the reader's knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.
SWAT Team Members in Action by ISBN: 9781503816343Publication Date: 2017-01-01Give readers an inside look at the dangerous job of SWAT team members. Additional features include a table of contents, a Fast Facts spread, critical-thinking questions, a phonetic glossary, an index, a selected bibliography, an introduction to the author, and sources for further research.
Working As a Legal Advocate by ISBN: 9781499467277Publication Date: 2018-12-15The term legal advocate encompasses a growing field of advocacy that includes many social service areas, such as immigration law, environmental law, prisoner's rights, and sexual harassment law. This comprehensive guide to legal advocacy explores the opportunities available for those interested in the field, how legal advocates work, and what skills they need to succeed. Whether one is interested in becoming a victim advocate who helps a crime victim navigate the court system, or an advocate in immigration court, helping to build a case for legal asylum, legal advocacy is a rewarding career, and an invaluable service to people in need.
Lesson #4
Possible Curriculum Connections: US History, US Government, Criminology, Math
Aim: How should US society balance the Second Amendment right to own guns with safety concerns?
Information Fluency Continuum Standards:
Standard 3: Demonstrating Social Responsibility
NYS Next Generation Standards:
Writing Standard 7 - Gather relevant information from multiple sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas; avoid plagiarism, overreliance on one source, and follow a standard format for citation.
Objectives: Students will be able to locate resources about the number of gun related deaths in the US, using resources presented by Mrs. Davis (librarian), in order to suggest effective gun control laws.
Development:
Students will use the Crime and Rehabilitation CCD Collection to research the number of gun related deaths in the US and circumstances leading to those deaths in order to create effective gun control laws. The final product could be a chart (created in on graph papers, in MS Excel, or in Buncee) and effective gun control laws that would be explained in an oral presentation.
- Opposing ViewpointsThis database contains information on both sides of an issue about a variety of topics.
Columbine by ISBN: 9780446546928Publication Date: 2010-03-03"The tragedies keep coming. As we reel from the latest horror . . ." So begins a new epilogue, illustrating how Columbine became the template for nearly two decades of "spectacle murders." It is a false script, seized upon by a generation of new killers. In the wake of Newtown, Aurora, and Virginia Tech, the imperative to understand the crime that sparked this plague grows more urgent every year. What really happened April 20, 1999? The horror left an indelible stamp on the American psyche, but most of what we "know" is wrong. It wasn't about jocks, Goths, or the Trench Coat Mafia. Dave Cullen was one of the first reporters on scene, and spent ten years on this book-widely recognized as the definitive account. With a keen investigative eye and psychological acumen, he draws on mountains of evidence, insight from the world's leading forensic psychologists, and the killers' own words and drawings-several reproduced in a new appendix. Cullen paints raw portraits of two polar opposite killers. They contrast starkly with the flashes of resilience and redemption among the survivors. Expanded with a New Epilogue
Crime and Punishment in America by ISBN: 0787691623Publication Date: 2004-12-17Covering the evolution of the American criminal justice system throughout history, the four-volume Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library explores everything from juvenile justice to organized crime. Crime and Punishment in America: Almanac examines key topics, including moral and religious beliefs, economic implications of crime and punishment, penology and reform, changing attitudes towards violence, the death penalty and more. Crime and Punishment in America: Biographies includes entries on important figures, such as Jane Addams, Allan Pinkerton, Clarence Darrow, Senator Estes Kefauver and others. Crime and Punishment in America: Primary Sources includes many documents, from the Sherman Antitrust Law and the Harrison Narcotic Drug Act to Eleanor Roosevelt's letter against lynching and the Report on Lawlessness in Law Enforcement.
Lesson #5
Possible Curriculum Connections: English, Criminology, Psychology
Aim: How do people become serial killers?
Information Fluency Continuum Standards:
Standard 1: Inquiry and Design Thinking
NYS Next Generation Standards:
Writing Standard 7 - Gather relevant information from multiple sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas; avoid plagiarism, overreliance on one source, and follow a standard format for citation.
Objectives: Students will be able to locate resources for their research project about serial killers, using resources presented by Mrs. Davis (librarian).
Development:
Students will use the Crime and Rehabilitation CCD Collection to research how specific serial killers embarked on this crime. The final product could be a Google site, an e-book created in Book Creator, or a storyboard created in Storyboard That (https://www.storyboardthat.com/).
- Crime Museum: Serial KillersGood resource about serial killers.
- Biography.com Serial KillersGood resource for biographies of serial killers.
Serial Murders by ISBN: 9781422234860Publication Date: 2016-01-01The systematic killing of a succession of victims, often over a period of many years, is not a modern phenomenon, but it has increased alarmingly over the past 50 years, particularly in the United States. These psychopathic individuals derive pleasure--most frequently sexual--by abducting and murdering innocent victims. The publicity these cases often stir up has law enforcement concerned that a growing number of incidents are "copy cat" crimes. This book covers fascinating and gruesome cases such as, Jack the Ripper, Peter Kurten, and George Joseph Smith. It investigates the root causes that led to the development of the killers' psychopathic personalities and describes the gathering of evidence that eventually led to their identification and arrest.. Each title in this series contains a foreword from the Chairman of the National Law Enforcement Association, color photos throughout, charts, and back matter including: an index, chronology, and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text-Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the chapter they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and provide readers with suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. And a Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the reader's knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.
