Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The theatre and dramatic literature CCD provides resources for teachers and students to utilize within their classrooms and extra curricular programs. The collection focuses on resources to support utilizing current theatre and dramatic literature in the classroom. There are also resources to support creating theatre in your own school. For questions, comments, or requests, please contact the curator of this page.
Sora Collection: All the World's a Stage
The Sora collection provides access to our special collection ebooks. It includes fiction, non-fiction, graphic novels and scripts. More titles will be added soon!
Here are some online resources to support including theatre in lessons and learning.
Come from Away: Welcome to the Rock by
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Come From Away: Welcome to the Rock - a fully illustrated companion volume to the hit Tony Award-winning Broadway musical, featuring the book and lyrics for the first time in print, backstage stories and the real history behind the show's events, character design sketches, and songs that ended up on the cutting room floor. The Tony Award-winning Broadway musical Come From Away tells the remarkable true story of a small town that welcomed the world. On September 11, 2001, 38 planes and 6,579 passengers were forced to land in the provincial town of Gander, Newfoundland. The local residents opened their arms to the displaced visitors, offering food, shelter, and friendship. In the days that followed, cultures clashed and nerves ran high, but uneasiness turned into trust, music soared into the night, and gratitude grew into enduring friendships. Come From Away: Welcome to the Rock is the ultimate companion piece to Irene Sankoff and David Hein's smash-hit musical based on that extraordinary experience. Featuring the complete book and lyrics for the first time in print, a foreword by Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, and exclusive photos of the company and physical production, this essential companion also includes original interviews with passengers, Gander residents, and the actors who portray them. The narrative by theater historian Laurence Maslon details the events of that memorable and challenging week and also traces the musical's development from the ten-year reunion of residents and airline passengers in Gander, where the idea for the musical was born , to the global phenomenon it is today. Come From Away: Welcome to the Rock gives an unprecedented look behind the curtain and demonstrates why the story has touched so many so deeply: Because we come from everywhere, we all come from away.
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
"Will hit all the high notes for theater and mystery fans alike." --Kirkus Reviews Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this spooky middle grade novel from Hamilton and Broadway star Mandy Gonzalez about a group of young thespians who must face the ghost haunting their theater. Twelve-year-old Monica Garcia has arrived in NYC with her grandmother and a few suitcases to live her dream on Broadway. She's been chosen as understudy to the star of Our Time, the famed Ethel Merman Theater's last chance to produce a hit before it shutters its doors for good. Along with her fellow castmates--a.k.a. "the squad"--Monica has a big and very personal reason to want this show to succeed. But rumors of a long-running curse plague the theater. And when strange and terrible things start to threaten their hopes for a successful opening night, Monica and the rest of the squad must figure out how to reverse the curse before their big Broadway debuts. With the help of her new friends, her family, and a little magic, can Monica help save the show--and save their dreams? From Broadway and television star Mandy Gonzalez comes a story about what it means to dream, be yourself, and be fearless.
In the Heights by
Publication Date: 2021-06-15
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The eagerly awaited follow-up to the #1 New York Times bestseller Hamilton: The Revolution, Lin-Manuel Miranda's new book gives readers an extraordinary inside look at In the Heights, his breakout Broadway debut, written with Quiara Alegría Hudes, now a Hollywood blockbuster. "[An] exuberant, unique, and invaluable record of dynamic, brilliant, and soulful creativity."--Booklist (starred review) In 2008, In the Heights, a new musical from up-and-coming young artists, electrified Broadway. The show's vibrant mix of Latin music and hip-hop captured life in Washington Heights, the Latino neighborhood in upper Manhattan. It won four Tony Awards and became an international hit, delighting audiences around the world. For the film version, director Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians) brought the story home, filming its spectacular dance numbers on location in Washington Heights. That's where Usnavi, Nina, and their neighbors chase their dreams and ask a universal question: Where do I belong? In the Heights: Finding Home reunites Miranda with Jeremy McCarter, co-author of Hamilton: The Revolution, and Quiara Alegría Hudes, the Pulitzer Prize-winning librettist of the Broadway musical and screenwriter of the film. They do more than trace the making of an unlikely Broadway smash and a major motion picture: They give readers an intimate look at the decades-long creative life of In the Heights. Like Hamilton: The Revolution, the book offers untold stories, perceptive essays, and the lyrics to Miranda's songs--complete with his funny, heartfelt annotations. It also features newly commissioned portraits and never-before-seen photos from backstage, the movie set, and productions around the world. This is the story of characters who search for a home--and the artists who created one.
Rifka Takes a Bow by
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Rifka's parents are actors in the Yiddish Theater in New York, but one day Rifka finds herself center stage in a special role! A slice of immigrant life on New York's Second Avenue, this is a unique book about a vanished time and a place - the Yiddish theater in the early 20th century―made real through the telling of the true life story of the 96-year-old author as a little girl.
Theater and Book Connections
Great articles promoting theatre and reading on a variety of topics. These articles cover a variety of books and age ranges. While some of these books may be incorporated into the CCD, please use professional reviews to help guide your own purchasing decisions.
Humanities Campus Librarian
351 West 18th Street
New York, NY 10011
212-675-5350 ext 4181
How This Collection Is Used In My School
This collection is used by a variety of parties within my campus school. Teachers who teach theatre or acting, use it practically to help support their curriculum. English teachers use the scripts, graphic novels, and young adult literature titles to enhance independent reading and units. Content teachers might search for a play on a particular topic. Students who have an interest in theatre or certain shows love to browse the collection. Overall, the theatre and dramatic literature collection enhances our ability to provide access to the performing arts in all subjects!
How Can This Collection Be Used in Other Schools
This collection can be used in other schools in a variety of different ways. Use the OPAC's Copy Category to browse all the titles in the Theatre CCD. In addition, you can bring a group to utilize the physical books in our collection or stop by the browse the collection personally with an appointment. If you need assistance with materials on a certain show or topic, please reach out directly to the CCD librarian, Lisa Egan, at Legan2@schools.nyc.gov. Finally, utilize the links on this page to reach out to arts organizations around the city and country for information on programs and other activities to immerse your students in the arts!
Links to additional information
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.