Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: Manga, Manhwa, Light Novels, & More: East Asian Popular Culture
• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.
Cooperative Collection Development Banner
Sora Titles
How This Collection Is Used in My School
Students utilize this CCD to access manga, manhwa, and light novel titles for our Manga Book Club and further enrichment in our Anime Club. There are also titles that go more in-depth into pop culture for Japan, Korea, and China for research purposes. The collection also offers multilingual learners access to high-interest titles.
Curator info
Ashley Hawkins, School Librarian
ahawkins6@schools.nyc.gov
PS 137 Rachel Jean Mitchell
121 Saratoga Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11233
Titles in the Citywide Digital Library
Click the image above to browse this CCD collection in Sora.
Websites of Interests
- Manga Plus: Read the latest manga straight from Japan, legally and for free! A website direct from Japanese publishers, this site is a great way to get a sneak peak at what will be popular next.
- Unseen Japan: A site covering news stories about Japanese culture.
- Mangasplaining: A podcast covering manga in-depth with analysis and cultural contexts.
- Yatta-Tachi: A manga review site that also includes information about new releases.
- Anime News Network: The ultimate resource for all things anime, manga, and more!
- Manga Librarian: Collection development guidance on manga, manhwa, light novels, and more for librarians. (This site is run by the CCD curator in her free time.)
- Manga in the Middle: Middle School focused reviews and guidance from Julie Stivers.
- The Graphic Library: Extensive reviews and guidance of manga and graphic novels from Sara Smith.
NYCPS is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please email libraries@schools.nyc.gov