Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: Resources
Graphic Novel Banner
New Books for this year...
Spider-Man: Fake Red
Yu's new high school is kind of awful. He's failing his classes and striking out socially. Everything changes when he finds one of Spider-Man's costumes abandoned in an alleyway. At first, it's fun to put on the costume and play hero, but when powerful enemies appear, Yu quickly realizes he's out of his element. Still, with the real Spider-Man nowhere to be found, the city needs someone to save it...
Waverider
Emily finally understands the stone's power and what she must do to defend Alledia from the shadows. As she travels to Typhon to help her mom and Navin, Prince Trellis returns to the Kingdom of the Elves to save his countrymen -- and confront the fraud who has seized power in the absence of a king.
Fry Guys
The Fry Guys--a team of three French fries--must do whatever it takes to defend their home against an invasion of evil UFO-nion Rings.
The Cardboard Kingdom #3: Snow and Sorcery
It's winter break in the Cardboard Kingdom, and kids from the town across the park want to play together! But according to the evil Sorceress, not just anyone can join the kingdom... So it's not long before the two communities spiral into battle. Will the Sorceress realize the error of her ways before all hope is lost? Will friendship still manage to win the day?
Takio
Taki and Olivia are sisters in an adoptive family - and they're driving each other crazy! When a secret experiment goes catastrophically wrong, the squabbling siblings suddenly find that they have superpowers. They're the first actual superheroes in the entire world - and it is awesome! But are the girls ready to face the daunting challenges posed by their amazing new abilities?
Diana and the Hero's Journey
It takes a village to raise a warrior...and the Amazons have a lot on their hands with Diana. Can she harness the power of truth and community to become the hero we know as WONDER WOMAN? Curious and rambunctious Diana thinks she has the whole warrior thing figured out- punching, archery, sword fighting... But as the village prepares for a festival celebrating the story of Hero-the first hero in Greek mythology-Diana and her goat, Phyllis, cause such chaos that she must embark on a journey to...clean up her mess.
Art Club (a Graphic Novel)
Dale Donavan has heard the same lecture over and over again: Art will get you nowhere in life. A kid with a creative streak, Dale wants nothing more than to doodle, play video games, and create comics forever--maybe even as a full-time job one day. But between his grandfather pushing him to focus on his studies and a school with zero interest in funding arts programs, Dale feels like his future has already been decided for him. That is, until he comes up with the perfect plan: What if he starts an after-school art club, gathers a team of creative students like himself, and proves all the naysayers--his stubborn vice principal in particular--wrong?
Stamped from the Beginning
A striking graphic novel edition of the National Book Award-winning history of how racist ideas have shaped American life--from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist. Racism has persisted throughout history--but so have antiracist efforts to dismantle it.
Wildfire (a Graphic Novel)
Julianna loved her life in rural Oregon. She loved taking care of her farm animals and being part of her local 4H club. But then the unthinkable happened...a wildfire destroyed her family's home. In the aftermath, her family relocated to Portland, Oregon, where Julianna hopes to put everything behind her. Believing the fire to be the result of kids playing with fireworks, she certainly isn't interested when her parents and younger sister start getting involved in the growing climate change protests. All she wants to do is move on, but that becomes near impossible when Carson, an old friend from her hometown who may have had a hand in starting the wildfire, is suddenly back in her life. Julianna can't seem to catch a break, but when two new friends invite her to join their school's conservation club, she learns that maybe she can turn her anger into something powerful.
Palestine
Based on several months of research and an extended visit to the West Bank and Gaza Strip in the early 1990s (where he conducted over 100 interviews with Palestinians and Jews), Palestine was the first major comics work of political and historical nonfiction by Sacco, whose name has since become synonymous with this graphic form of New Journalism.
Skip!
Jay often feels that like they are a nobody. Beah, on the other hand, is fierce, charming, athletic--and OBSESSED with the street skipping art, Double Dutch. When the two meet, sparks fly, in this colorful slice-of-life graphic novel about the wonder of platonic friendship and finding your identity.
Atana and the Firebird
A mermaid, a firebird, and a witch become entangled with the mysterious and powerful Witch Queen, who may hold the key to each of their past in this epic middle grade fantasy by debut author Vivian Zhou.
How This Collection is Used in My School
Primarily comics are used as a motivation tool for reading, but some classes have studied graphic novels in their language arts or Art curriculum. Other classes have brought specific comics into the classroom that relate to a curriculum area.
Justify Your Collection
Common Core Comics
Worried that the common core is excluding comics from the curriculum? It doesn't have to. Check out these resources.
ComicCon Educational Series
Comics in the Classroom
Graphic Novels in the classroom and school library
Citywide Digital Library
Click the image above to browse this CCD collection in Sora.
Destiny Discover Search Box
Search the I.S. 278 library catalog for graphic novels.
Search by title, author, or keyword. Types of keyword/subjects: graphic novel, comic, etc.
Reference Titles
Teaching with Comics and Graphic Novels
This text will allow you to harness students' love of comics and graphic novels while increasing critical thinking and engagement in the classroom. Author Tim Smyth offers a wide variety of lessons and ideas for using comics to teach close reading, working with textual evidence, literature adaptations, symbolism and culture, sequencing, essay writing, and more. He also models how to use comics to tackle tough topics and enhance social-emotional learning. Throughout the book, you'll find a multitude of practical resources, including a variety of lesson plans--some quick and easy activities as well as more detailed ready-to-use unit plans. These thoughtful lessons meet the Common Core State Standards and are easy to adapt for any subject area or grade level to fit into your curriculum. Add this book to your professional library and you'll have a new and exciting way of reaching and teaching your students!
Worth a Thousand Words
This book will detail how and why graphic novels are complex texts with advanced-level vocabulary and how to read and analyze these texts. It also provides research to back up why they're such powerful educational tools. Furthermore it includes practical advice on how to integrate these books into both ELA and content-area classrooms and provides an extensive list of appropriate graphic novels for K-8 students, lesson suggestions, paired graphic/prose reading suggestions, and links/additional resources for taking these texts further.
Graphic Novels II
Covering genres from action/adventure and fantasy to horror, science fiction, and superheroes, this guide maps the vast and expanding terrain of graphic novels, describing and organizing titles as well as providing information that will help librarians to build and balance their graphic novel collections and direct patrons to read-alikes. * Introduces users to approximately 1,000 currently popular graphic novels and manga * Organizes titles by genre, subgenre, and theme to facilitate finding read-alikes * Helps librarians build and balance their graphic novel collections
101 Outstanding Graphic Novels
Expert Librarian Stephen Weiner (Rise of the Graphic Novel, The Hellboy Companion, The Will Eisner Companion), with the crowdsourcing help of professionals in the field, from artists to critics to leading comic store owners, has sifted through the bewildering thousands of graphic novels now available to come up with an outstanding, not-to-be-missed 101. Edited by Daniel J. Fingeroth, a writer (Spider-Man) and also an expert on comics (How to Create Comics from Script to Print [TwoMorrows Publishing, 2010]). An unmissable treat for comic fans.
Faster Than a Speeding Bullet
The groundbreaking history of the graphic novel, fully updated to include all of the latest must-reads, the milestones and the future of this exciting medium. The author of 101 Best Graphic Novels now tells the whole history of the graphic novel revolution, from the first modern urban autobiographical graphic novel, Will Eisner's A Contract With God, to the hip indie comics of the Hernandez Bros' Love and Rockets, the dark mysteries of Neil Gaiman's Sandman and the postmodern superheroics of Frank Miller's Batman: The Dark Knight.
Using Content-Area Graphic Texts for Learning
Using Content-Area Graphic Texts for Learning: A Guide for Middle-Level Educators by Dr. Meryl Jaffe and Dr. Katie Monnin empowers twenty-first-century, middle-school educators to not only better understand content-area graphic novels, but also teach them. Like their print counterparts, graphic texts reinforce traditional content-area thinking skills like memory, attention, cognition, language learning, and sequencing. Unlike print texts, however, comics and graphic novels reach out to diverse types of literacy learners and their particular reading strengths, making them the perfect, high-quality, literary-level texts for core content-area classrooms.
Graphic Novels in Your School Library
This dynamic book takes a look at graphic novels, examining how the format has become entwined in our culture, and the ways in which they can be used in the library and in the classroom.
Understanding Manga and Anime
NOT Available at IS 278 but available at BPL. Teens love it. Parents hate it. Librarians are confused by it; and patrons are demanding it. Libraries have begun purchasing both manga and anime, particularly for their teen collections. But the sheer number of titles available can be overwhelming, not to mention the diversity and quirky cultural conventions. In order to build a collection, it is important to understand the media and its cultural nuances. Many librarians have been left adrift, struggling to understand this unique medium while trying to meet patron demands as well as protests. This book gives the novice background information necessary to feel confident in selecting, working with, and advocating for manga and anime collections; and it offers more experienced librarians some fresh insights and ideas for programming and collections.
Understanding Comics
NOT AVAILABLE AT IS 278. BUT AVAILABLE AT BPL.
Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, this innovative comic book provides a detailed look at the history, meaning, and art of comics and cartooning.
Blogs & Review Sites
- Good Comics for KidsFor parents, educators, and anyone interested in kids comics.