Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All materials purchased should align with the NYCDOE Collection Development Policy for Classroom Collections and School Libraries.
All materials ordered for the central school library should be purchased as “shelf-ready.” Shelf-ready print materials should include mylar covers for dust jackets, spine labels, barcodes, barcode protectors, and MARC 21 records for all items in the library order. The Funding Source, e.g., “NYSLIB,” should be marked on every library material purchased.
PURCHASED WITH STATE MONEY
EDUCATION LAW 1985
SECTION 711, CHAPTER 53
All cataloging and processing specifications for the library's collection should be on file with each individual vendor/jobber the order is being placed with. Every jobber should receive a different range of barcode numbers and the librarian should maintain records of the barcode ranges allocated for each vendor.
Please refer to the Automation page for guidance on barcodes, call numbers, and setting up cataloging and processing specifications with jobbers.
Contracted Vendors for FY22
Building a library collection takes time, funding, and collection development skills. Please take advantage of one of the collection development tools/services contracted jobbers offer. All books must be ordered with shelf-ready processing and should be imported into a library automation system such as Follett's Destiny.
A robust collection of magazines is available in the Citywide Digital Library on Sora for all students and staff.
Shopping with ShopDOE
Shopping with ShopDOE
Explore ShopDOE for items other then shelf-ready, processed library books and materials at www.shopdoe.com
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email email@example.com, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.