Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Collection Development
The heart of the traditional library program, the library collection (the resources, print and non-print, available through the library) is now viewed through the dual lens of instructional resources and reading motivation. How do these materials help students learn AND develop a love of reading forreading's sake?
NYC Department of Education Collection Development Policy for Classroom Collections and School Libraries
The school library provides physical and intellectual access to information, enriches, and supports the educational program of the school through a well-planned and maintained collection. It is the duty of the schools to provide a wide range of materials on all levels of difficulty, in all appropriate languages, with diversity of appeal, and presentation of different points of view.
Diversity is a source of knowledge and must be taught and celebrated. Our differences make us unique and bring distinct and independent perspectives to teaching and learning. Although texts should be representative of the differences in the world, not all materials present the same. Schools selecting materials for school libraries and classroom collections should understand the need to vet and evaluate text in a collection individually and as a part of a larger collection using the selection criteria outlined in the NYCDOE Collection Development Policy for Classroom Collections and School Libraries.
Standards for Selecting Materials for Classroom Collections and School Libraries
An Addendum to the NYC DOE Collection Development Policy. The books and materials students are exposed to in and outside of school help students develop a sense of identity and self, while developing a balanced perspective of the world around them. The quality and quantity of texts impacts their learning, personal growth, and development. Schools selecting materials for school libraries and classroom collections should be cognizant of the mission of the school, community, inclusiveness, quality of literature, own voices, and representation fostering the ability for students to embrace their identities and to learn to respect others. A balanced collection should also provide equitable access to physical and intellectual information that is readily available, discoverable, includes multiple perspectives, and opposing viewpoints.
School Library Systems Association (SLSA) Statement on Intellectual Freedom
A statement from the School Library Systems Association affirming the position of school libraries in making equitable access to materials available while respecting the needs of families.
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.