Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addressing Challenges in the Library
New York City Department of Education Collection Development Policy for Classroom Collections and School Libraries
The school library provides physical and intellectual access to information, enriches, and supports the educational program of the school through a well-planned and maintained collection. It is the duty of the schools to provide a wide range of materials on all levels of difficulty, in all appropriate languages, with diversity of appeal, and presentation of different points of view.
Diversity is a source of knowledge and must be taught and celebrated. Our differences make us unique and bring distinct and independent perspectives to teaching and learning. Although texts should be representative of the differences in the world, not all materials present the same. Schools selecting materials for school libraries and classroom collections should understand the need to vet and evaluate text in a collection individually and as a part of a larger collection using the selection criteria outlined in the NYCDOE Collection Development Policy.
Resources for Challenged Materials
Banned Books Week
Celebrate the freedom to read with resources from around the country compiled by AAP, NCTE, ALA, ABA and many more.
Banned Books Week (ALA)
The ALA promotes the freedom to choose or the freedom to express one's opinions even if that opinion might be considered unorthodox or unpopular and stresses the importance of ensuring the availability of those viewpoints to all who wish to read them. This site offers resources to promote awareness of Banned Books Week and challenged materials.
Banned Websites Awareness Day
To raise awareness of the overly restrictive blocking of legitimate, educational websites and academically useful social networking tools in schools and school libraries, AASL has designated one day during Banned Books Week as Banned Websites Awareness Day.
Freedom to Read Foundation
The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) is a non-profit legal and educational organization affiliated with the American Library Association. FTRF protects and defends the First Amendment to the Constitution and supports the right of libraries to collect - and individuals to access information.
Intellectual Freedom Manual
Published by the American Library Association, this manual is designed to answer practical questions that confront librarians in applying the principles of intellectual freedom to library service.
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email email@example.com, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.