Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: LGBTQ+ Resources for Teachers & Librarians
Additional Resources: Links to curriculum & information to support instruction
- Anti-Defamation League Unheard Voices: Stories of LGBT HistoryThis curriculum collects interviews with GLBTQ activists, provides classroom activities and resource lists. Some of the referenced books are out of print, but it remains an important resource.
- GLSEN Educator ResourcesGLSEN (Gay Lesbian & Straight Education Network) provides resources, including guides, curricula & lessons.
- Cultivating Respect: Safe Schools for AllParents, Family and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) has created lots of resources for schools and communities to use.
- Safe Schools and Youth--Collected by UCLA Williams InstituteResearch summaries and briefs by staff and students.
- Understanding LGBTQ+ Identity toolkitAn amazing resource from PBS and the NYCDOE, including short videos and teaching plans.
- Remove Hate from the DebateWhile from Australia, this site offers information, suggestions and activities to counter hate speech.
- WeTeach NYC LGBT FilterMaterials gathered from around the city can be found on the WeTeach NYC website.
- UCLA Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law and Public PolicyThis libguide collects resources related to the Reading Room at the Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law and Public Policy. Excellent resource for law-related projects in high school.
How This Collection is Used in My School
Students at East Side are incredibly active readers, and the majority of the books have been used for independent choice reading. Many of our students also do research on the GLBTQ civil rights movements. Finally, a number of grades read whole-class novels with LGBTQ characters, and this collection offers research and extension activities.
Need to justify your collection?
Additional Resources: Links to curriculum & information to support instruction
- Anti-Defamation League Unheard Voices: Stories of LGBT HistoryThis curriculum collects interviews with GLBTQ activists, provides classroom activities and resource lists. Some of the referenced books are out of print, but it remains an important resource.
- GLSEN Educator ResourcesGLSEN (Gay Lesbian & Straight Education Network) provides resources, including guides, curricula & lessons.
- Cultivating Respect: Safe Schools for AllParents, Family and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) has created lots of resources for schools and communities to use.
- Safe Schools and Youth--Collected by UCLA Williams InstituteResearch summaries and briefs by staff and students.
- Understanding LGBTQ+ Identity toolkitAn amazing resource from PBS and the NYCDOE, including short videos and teaching plans.
- Remove Hate from the DebateWhile from Australia, this site offers information, suggestions and activities to counter hate speech.
- WeTeach NYC LGBT FilterMaterials gathered from around the city can be found on the WeTeach NYC website.
- UCLA Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law and Public PolicyThis libguide collects resources related to the Reading Room at the Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law and Public Policy. Excellent resource for law-related projects in high school.
GLSEN School Climate Survey
- GLSEN School Climate SurveyGLSEN (Gay Lesbian Straight Educator Network) has published an updated School Climate Survey for 2017. While it is extensive, read the Preface & the Executive Summary on pages vii-xviii for a summary.
Additional materials for Librarians
- The Silent Message: Professional Journals’ Failure to Address LGBTQ IssuesAn article in YALSA to support our collections.
- LGBTQ Right to Read Resource GuideFrom the National Coalition Against Censorship, and intended to prepare you to talk about and respond to challenged aimed at materials by, for, or about LGBTQ youth.
- GLSEN's Day of SilenceThis program is a student-led national event organized in thousands of schools, bringing awareness to the silencing effects of anti-LGBTQ name-calling, bullying and harassment in schools.
- The Make It Safe ProjectThe Make It Safe Project donates books about sexual orientation and gender identity to schools, youth homeless shelters, and juvenile detention centers.
How to Build a Safe Space Through Books
- How to Build a Safe Space for LGBTQIA+ Teens via BooksThis fantastic post by the co-founder of GayYA is a wonderful resource to share with others--written in 2016, so the book lists are not up-to-date--but the big ideas are as relevant today as ever.
LGBTQIA+ Collection Review Checklist
- LGBTQIA+ Collection Review ChecklistThis checklist was prepared for a presentation on weeding with a focus on LGBTQIA+ materials. Please let me know if you'd like more information.
Worth Reading
- Why I Came Out as a Gay Children's Book AuthorAlexander London writes about his experiences speaking with children about his writing, and why he no longer hides his sexuality.
Check the East Side catalog--or look for specific resource lists
| Find: | ||||
 |
 |
 |
||
We have multiple resource lists that are more specific--Trans Themes and Characters & Bisexual Themes and Characters, for example--and more are being made. Check the East Side catalog for these resource lists, or contact the librarian to get one made for you!
AASL Resource: Defending Intellectual Freedom
From the Introduction to the Toolskit: Learners have the freedom to speak and hear what others have to say, rather than allowing others to control their access to ideas and information, the school librarian’s responsibility is to develop these dispositions in learners, educators, and all other members of the learning community. (AASL, 2018a)
Improving and safeguarding LGBTQ+ collections positively impacts the social-emotional learning of all learners. Read on for ways to use the Shared Foundations from the AASL Standards–Inquire, Include, Collaborate, Curate, Explore, and Engage–to build LGBTQ+-inclusive library instruction, collections, and spaces.
- Defending LGBTQ+ Materials in School LibrariesThis is a toolkit and guide to help school librarians in case of challenges and to encourage the accession of LGBTQ+ materials.
NYPL Teacher Sets will be available
Teacher Sets are currently suspended, but hopefully soon they will be back!
The wonderful folks at MyLibraryNYC have added Teacher Sets that any school participating in MyLibraryNYC may borrow. A link to the borrowing page is below, but here is a list of the related Teacher Sets:
- LGBTQ Fiction and Nonfiction (Grades 0-3)
- LGBTQ Fiction and Nonfiction (Grades 4-8)
- Award Winners--Stonewall Award (Grades 4-8)
- Lambda Literary Award (series II)
- Lambda Literary Award Finalists and Winner with Playaway Audiobook (Grades 10-12)
- Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe 10-copy set
- Boy Meets Boy 10-copy set
- I'll Give You the Sun 10-copy set
- Exit, Pursued by a Bear 10-copy set
- If I Stay 10-copy set
- Juliet Takes a Breath 10-copy set
- The Best Man 10-copy set
- We are the Ants 10-copy set
- What if it's Us 10-copy set
- Will Grayson, Will Grayson 10-copy set
There are also titles of interest in the Great Books for 11th and 12th Grade set and Great Fiction for High School set.