Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Immigrant Experience on Sora
Log in to your Sora account to explore more on immigration. The Immigrant Experience Collection on Sora has ebooks and audiobooks for ages PreK-adult. Go explore!
How is this collection used?
Students on the MBHS Campus participate in an immigration unit each year. The students learn about various groups of immigrants and the problems each group faced in their journey. Each student then chooses a particular group of immigrants to study for an independent research project. Students use the books in our CCD collection, websites, and databases to research immigrant experiences within the United States. Each student presents their final project to the class and explains what the immigrant experience was for their chosen group, as well as what contributions that group has made to the culture of the United States.
The Immigration CCD collection includes materials that document the immigrant experience. It includes topics from historical immigration to current issues surrounding illegal immigration, refugee/asylum seekers, as well as the emerging climate migration concerns.
We Are Displaced by
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
In this powerful book, Nobel Peace Prize winner and New York Times bestselling author Malala Yousafzai introduces the people behind the statistics and news stories about the millions of people displaced worldwide. After her father was murdered, María escaped in the middle of the night with her mother. Zaynab was out of school for two years as she fled war before landing in America. Her sister, Sabreen, survived a harrowing journey to Italy. Ajida escaped horrific violence, but then found herself battling the elements to keep her family safe. Malala's experiences visiting refugee camps caused her to reconsider her own displacement -- first as an Internally Displaced Person when she was a young child in Pakistan, and then as an international activist who could travel anywhere in the world except to the home she loved. In We Are Displaced, Malala not only explores her own story, but she also shares the personal stories of some of the incredible girls she has met on her journeys -- girls who have lost their community, relatives, and often the only world they've ever known. In a time of immigration crises, war, and border conflicts, We Are Displaced is an important reminder from one of the world's most prominent young activists that every single one of the 68.5 million currently displaced is a person -- often a young person -- with hopes and dreams. "A stirring and timely book." --New York Times
Dear America: Young Readers' Edition by
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
In this young readers' adaptation of his adult memoir Dear America, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and undocumented immigrant Jose Antonio Vargas tells his story, in light of the 12 million undocumented immigrants currently in the United States. Jose Antonio Vargas was only twelve years old when he was brought to the United States from the Philippines to live with his grandparents. He didn't know it, but he was sent to the U.S. illegally. When he applied for a learner's permit, he learned the truth, and he spent the next almost twenty years keeping his immigration status a secret. Hiding in plain sight, he was writing for some of the most prestigious news organizations in the country. Only after publicly admitting his undocumented status--risking his career and personal safety--was Vargas able to live his truth. This book asks questions including, How do you define who is an American? How do we decide who gets to be a citizen? What happens to those who enter the U.S. without documentation? By telling his personal story and presenting facts without easy answers, Jose Antonio Vargas sheds light on an issue that couldn't be more relevant.
Key Immigration Laws by
Publication Date: 2019-12-15
World history is a history of immigrants and immigration, which is the act of traveling to a country one was not born in and living there, making a living, creating a whole new life. Ours is a world filled with a wide variety of people and pursuits, but immigration is complicated by country borders and governments that don't want a flood of immigrants in their country. Immigration challenges people to consider racism, nationalism, and just who is a citizen. With this book, readers explore the laws that have shaped our journeys to and from our countries.
Climate Refugees by
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
In a world where temperatures fluctuate and extreme weather has become commonplace, several populations have already found themselves unable to survive in their homeland. Droughts, flooding, and crop failures have caused famine, while extreme weather events like hurricanes and tornadoes have destroyed homes and, at times, whole villages. The articles in this collection examine the phenomenon of climate refugees, including the reasons they must move, the impact it has on humans and the economy, and examining the politics and other factors that affect their arrival in new countries.
Come on In by
Publication Date: 2020-10-13
This exceptional and powerful anthology explores the joys, heartbreaks and triumphs of immigration, with stories by critically acclaimed and bestselling YA authors who are shaped by the journeys they and their families have taken from home--and to find home. WELCOME From some of the most exciting bestselling and up-and-coming YA authors writing today...journey from Ecuador to New York City and Argentina to Utah...from Australia to Harlem and India to New Jersey...from Fiji, America, Mexico and more... Come On In. With characters who face random traffic stops, TSA detention, customs anxiety, and the daunting and inspiring journey to new lands...who camp with their extended families, dance at weddings, keep diaries, teach ESL...who give up their rooms for displaced family, decide their own answer to the question "where are you from?" and so much more... Come On In illuminates fifteen of the myriad facets of the immigrant experience, from authors who have been shaped by the journeys they and their families have taken from home--and to find home.
Immigration Timeline - The Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island Foundation
An overview of immigration in the United States. Each section relays important events that occurred during the selected time range.
National Archives - Immigration Records
The National Archives provides access to immigrant entry records and other immigration topics in our nation's history.
First Days Project
The First Days Project was started in 2013. Immigrants share the story of their first day in the United States.
Immigration Data - Department of Homeland Security
The Office of Immigration Statistics collects information to be used in evaluating the impact of immigration laws. Information available includes statistics on permanent residents, refugee/asylum seekers, illegal immigrant populations, and border security.
US Citizenship and Immigration Services
USCIS is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. This website has online resources for those seeking information and forms for US immigration services.
The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse on Immigration uses the Freedom of Information Act to provide research on government agency reports on immigration, immigration caseloads and outcomes, border patrol reports, deportation proceedings and more. There is also a glossary of immigration terms.
Explore immigration statistics and stories through the Tenement Museum in New York City.
Your Story, Our Story
People across the country are invited to post their immigration story and/or photos of important objects about different cultures.
Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation
AIISF collects the stories of immigrants entering the US from the Pacific. These stories are shared through education initiatives and public programs.
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email firstname.lastname@example.org, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.