Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This collection is for everyone in New York City and includes the following:
- Materials about entrepreneurship and how to start your business.
- Resources in New York City to help you set up a business, grow your business or find a job.
- Services for librarians interested in starting a business collection in their library.
How the Collection Is Used in My School
Students at FLUSHING HIGH SCHOOL are interested in earning money. Many of our students are enrolled in Virtual Enterprise classes and already know the basics of starting their own company. Our students use this collection to learn how to apply the skills they learn in school to either start their own business or develop a business they already started. Many of our students also use the collection to plan for their future. The collection helps them to focus on their personal goals and interests to find a life path that reflects their passions.
BUSINESS PROGRAMS at FLUSHING HIGH SCHOOLS
Flushing High School business students attended the International Youth Business Summit, held in New York City, April 16-18th, 2018.
Our students proudly displayed their Virtual Business program, Olympic Insurance, to an international community.
Students in the business program at Flushing High School graduate with the ability to find immediate part time employment. They are experts in Microsoft Office and the challenges of running a successful small business. Students participate in the Virtual Enterprise program, a simulated business that is set up and run by students.
Books (Research Topic)
ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text
Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.
BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan.
All the BOOKS below contain fantastic photographs that capture . Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog. Other BOOKS about can be found at the Queens Public Library.
Highlighted Books from the Flushing High School Collection
FHS LIBRARY EBOOKS LOG-IN
Request Log-In and Password from the FHS Librarians. Be sure to click on "Digital" in order to read the Ebooks online.
Be a Young Entrepreneur! by
"Use this guide to understand the ins and outs of being a business-minded kid wanting to succeed, to explore your ideas, to gain start-up tips, and to learn the secrets of entrepreneurship."--OCLC.
Breakthrough Branding by
Discusses the brand strategy of dozens of successful brands, and discusses how to define the audience, create a standout personality, and position a brand above the competition in order to create a new, successful brand.
Engineering Entrepreneurs by
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Learn about ingenious entrepreneurs who are finding new and better methods of building roads and structures. Part of a series of successful entrepreneurs.
Highlighted E Books from the Flushing High School Collection
FHS LIBRARY EBOOKS LOG-IN
To read ebooks request Log In and Password from the FHS Librarians. Click on "Digital" to read the Ebooks online.
African American entrepreneurs stories of success
Profiles black entrepreneurs who have overcome racial barriers to create successful businesses, and discusses the history of discrimination against African Americans in the business world and how it has been and still can be combated.
Internet Entrepreneurs by
Internet entrepreneurs have changed the way people navigate the world. Read about founders of popular Internet destinations: Jeff Bezos (Amazon), Arianna Huffington (The Huffington Post), Jack Dorsey (Twitter), Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook), Perry Chen (Kickstarter), and Travis Kalanick (Uber). (Description from Amazon).
Financial Literacy for Millennials by
A tale of two teens, read the financial situation of both and see where you would like to be in ten years, twenty years or more. The book provides a roadmap to financial security to last throughout your life.
Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge
Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.
New York Science, Industry and Business Library
NYPL Science, Industry and Business Library
You must check out this library on 33rd Street and Fifth Avenue in NYC if you are serious about business. There is a constant buzz of business skill classes, lectures and resources to inspire and direct you to a successful business.
The New York Small Business Development Center can help you with a business plan, legal questions and general advice, all for free! Schedule a first interview and get moving. Located throughout New York State, including all 5 boros of NYC.
Business Mentor NY connects aspiring business owners with experienced mentors in their field of interest. Everybody needs a partner. Don't go it alone. Find help and advice through this website.
FLUSHING HIGH SCHOOL DESTINY CATALOG
Flushing High School Destiny Catalog
The Flushing High School Destiny Catalog allows teachers and students to see available print and eBooks for research needs. Username and Password required to access FolletShelf eBooks.
NYPL Teaching Sets
No Crystal Stair by Vaunda M. Nelson
Have your students read the inspiring biography of Lewis Michaux, who built Harlem's National Memorial African Bookstore, the intellectual center of Harlem.
Women of Science
This is a 10 volume set of famous women in science, let your students be inspired to learn how one woman's discovery can create a new drug, possibly leading to business fortunes.
LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #1
ELA Standards: Writing
Production and Distribution of Writing
Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.
Read 1-3 Books or Chapter Selections from BOOKS in the LibGuide.
Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.
Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).
* Teacher Assigned: Type a Research Paper about an assigned research topic.
Article Annotation Model
The Article Annotation PDF file is a model for format. The model shows an MLA citation, 75-word article summary, and 75-word critique of the article.
Librarian MLA Term Paper Model: Drug Abuse
The Librarian MLA Term Paper Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources.
Librarian MLA Term Paper with Images Model: Drug Abuse
The Librarian MLA Term Paper with images Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources. The paper makes use of an image from the Library of Congress website, sidebar of information from a book, and a chart from World Book Student Database.
LIBRARIAN TEACHING SCHEDULES
NEW YORK STATE LIBRARY RUBRIC
NSED DANIELSON LIBRARY RUBRIC
FLUSHING HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY CALENDAR
Flushing High School Library Calendar
The Flushing High School Library Calendar allows teachers to see available dates to request library class research reservations. The FHS Library Calendar allows students to see class reservations and Student Open Access Periods (Lunch Periods).
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email email@example.com, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.