Innovation Makerspaces: Resources
Makerspace Articles
- Communities for Maker Educators: A Study of the Communities and Resources that Connect Educators Engaged in MakingRemold, Julie, Judith Fusco, Kea Anderson Vogt, and Tiffany Leones. Communities for Maker Educators. SRI Education, n.d. Web. 8 Nov. 2016.
- Have Maker Cart, Will TravelJohnson, Mica, et al. "Have maker cart, will travel: a grant enabled Knoxville school libraries to take maker activities mobile." School Library Journal June 2016: 20. Academic OneFile. Web. 23 Sept. 2016.
- Looks like we made it: 11 lessons from a maker space, one year inJensen, Karen. "Looks like we made it: 11 lessons from a maker space, one year in." School Library Journal, Nov. 2016, p. 38+. Academic OneFile, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=AONE&sw=w&u=nysl_ca_dmvacces&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CA468699067&it=r&asid=3fc0d0e383c1e397548c884ef6e66fee. Accessed 9 Nov. 2016.
- Resources for Teacher Librarians and Other EducatorsLoertscher, David V. "Resources for teacher librarians and other educators." Teacher Librarian, vol. 44, no. 1, 2016, p. 34+. Academic OneFile, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=AONE&sw=w&u=nysl_ca_dmvacces&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CA469315252&it=r&asid=46a7b25d7c68189a42fcd5da5d8a2908. Accessed 9 Nov. 2016.
- School Librarians Push for More Makerspaces"School Librarians Push for More 'Maker Spaces'; Movement fuels project-based learning." Education Week 13 May 2015: 10. Academic OneFile. Web. 23 Sept. 2016.
Planning Your Maker Space
- MakerEd Resources for School Makerspaces byThis latest edition is a collection of over 250+ resources to help you with your makerspace and maker education program. This ebook will be revised quarterly in order to add the latest resources available and to make sure all links are active.
Worlds of Making by ISBN: 1483382826Publication Date: 2015-02-17Makerspaces: Your questions answered here! Get the nuts and bolts on imagining, planning, creating, and managing a cutting-edge Makerspace for your school community. Nationally recognized expert Laura Fleming provides all the answers in this breakthrough guide. From inception through implementation, you'll find invaluable guidance for creating a vibrant Makerspace on any budget. Practical strategies and anecdotal examples help you: Create an action plan for your own personalized Makerspace Align activities to standards Showcase student creations Use this must-have guide to painlessly build a robust, unique learning environment that puts learning back in the hands of your students!
Makerspaces by ISBN: 1442229675Publication Date: 2014-07-17A makerspace is an area in a library where users can use tools and equipment to design, build, and create all sorts of different things. It may be a dedicated room or a multipurpose space in which a collection of raw materials and resources can be utilized as desired. Projects range from prototyping product designs with 3D printers, to programming robots, to creating art out of recycled items. This practical guide will help librarians .develop, budget for, and implement makerspaces; .write grant proposals for funding; .and understand the mindset behind the maker movement in order to meet patron needs. Makerspaces: A Practical Guide for Librarians also includes useful case studies, descriptions of equipment and new technologies, and models for planning and assessing projects."
Maker-Centered Learning by ISBN: 1119259703Publication Date: 2016-12-05The Agency by Design guide to implementing maker-centered teaching and learning Maker-Centered Learning provides both a theoretical framework and practical resources for the educators, curriculum developers, librarians, administrators, and parents navigating this burgeoning field. Written by the expert team from the Agency by Design initiative at Harvard's Project Zero, this book Identifies a set of educational practices and ideas that define maker-centered learning, and introduces the focal concepts of maker empowerment and sensitivity to design. Shares cutting edge research that provides evidence of the benefits of maker-centered learning for students and education as a whole. Presents a clear Project Zero-based framework for maker-centered teaching and learning Includes valuable educator resources that can be applied in a variety of design and maker-centered learning environments Describes unique thinking routines that foster the primary maker capacities of looking closely, exploring complexity, and finding opportunity. A surge of voices from government, industry, and education have argued that, in order to equip the next generation for life and work in the decades ahead, it is vital to support maker-centered learning in various educational environments. Maker-Centered Learning provides insight into what that means, and offers tools and knowledge that can be applied anywhere that learning takes place.
Your Starter Guide to Makerspaces by ISBN: 9780692786123Publication Date: 2016-09-22Schools around the country are designing maker spaces to spark creativity. Students learn best when they are able to create and tinker and make. But how do you even begin when there are so many terms floating around? This book provides a fun, practical, and approachable framework for any teacher curious about getting started with maker spaces. I've never had so much fun reading a professional book, ever. Somehow each chapter is equal parts hilarious, gleeful, inspiring and practical. I would recommend to this every educator I know and even parents and students. This is a book you can come back to again and again to laugh learn and make each time in a new way. - Jennie Magiera, Educator and Author of Courageous EdventuresYour Starter Guide To Makerspaces makes any Hufflepuff feel like they can tackle the maker movement with the brains of a Ravenclaw, confidence of a Gryffindor, and cleverness of a Slytherin. Emily Gover - Edtech Nerd & Librarian
Challenged Based Learning in the School Library MakerspaceISBN: 9781440851513Publication Date: 2017An invaluable how-to text that details the workshop model, addresses the design challenges, and explains the best avenues for curriculum-based learning in the school library makerspace.
The Elementary School Library MakerspaceISBN: 9781440853395Publication Date: 2017A must-read for elementary school librarians interested in starting a makerspace at their school, but who are concerned about the cost and are looking for curriculum links for getting started.
Make It Here by ISBN: 9781610695541Publication Date: 2014-12-04This is an ideal resource for joining the maker movement, no matter the size of your public library or resource level. * Explains why the maker movement and libraries are a perfect match * Includes makerspace ideas and programs for all ages, not just teens * Written by authors with personal experience creating maker programming in a short amount of time with a limited budget * Supplies ideas and anecdotes from makerspaces and innovators across the United States that will inspire staff at all levels
New York Hall of Science
Making with the New York Hall of Science!
\
Makerspace Books for the Curriculum
10 Great Makerspace Projects Using Art by ISBN: 9781499438437Publication Date: 2017-07-15"Makerspaces are public spaces located in schools, public libraries, and other community locations where people can meet up, share creative interests, tinker with new technologies, and learn as they go. The specialized resources in many makerspaces are perfectly suited for artists and other creative people. This easy-to-follow guide explores ten compelling art projects students can work on with friends at local makerspaces. 3D printers, graphic computer programs, creative mobile apps, traditional arts and crafts supplies, and even LEGOs are just some of the tools used in the projects described in this dynamic book."
10 Great Makerspace Projects Using Language Arts by ISBN: 9781499438451Publication Date: 2017-07-15"Makerspaces, equipped with 3D printers, laser cutters, robotics, and other high-tech tools, are often associated with STEM programs like science, math, and technology. Educators have discovered that the learning opportunities makerspaces offer can be just as valuable in other curriculum areas as well. This volume fuses this fabulous technology with the Language Arts."
10 Great Makerspace Projects Using Science by ISBN: 9781499438499Publication Date: 2017-07-15"Makerspaces are community-based, hands-on workshops in which people of all ages and skill levels come together to learn, work together, and create. Using creativity and collaboration, makerspace science projects are both fun and fulfilling. This guide brings science to life with ten easy-to-follow makerspace activities using sewing machines, laser cutters, 3D printers, electronics, woodworking tools, and metalworking equipment. Makers will develop new people and project skills, build confidence by overcoming challenges, and possibly discover innovative ways to address modern-day issues with science."
10 Great Makerspace Projects Using Social Studies by ISBN: 9781499438512Publication Date: 2017-07-15"Technology and tools once available only in factories can now be found in classroom makerspaces. Maker culture uses 3D printers, laser cutters, and other manufacturing tools to provide invaluable learning experiences. Combining technology with more abstract ideas such as social justice, history, and civics can lead students to become more involved with the local community as well the global one. This interesting guide provides step-by-step instructions to help both educators and students experience social studies projects like never before. Learn how to implement STEM principles to make social studies hands-on and fun at the same time."
10 Great Makerspace Projects Using Math by ISBN: 9781499438468Publication Date: 2017-07-15"Technology has become a major component of today's classroom environment. Teachers are using new methods like makerspaces in order to engage their students. Makerspaces refer to tools students can use to explore, discover, and create new ideas and concepts using technology. This book will focus on makerspace projects that will help students with math. Complete with detailed directions and examples, this easy-to-read guide will focus on new methods of learning and mastering mathematical concepts. At last there's a way to make math fun and hands-on using the latest tools and technology."
Makerspace Projects - Low Tech
The Big Book of Makerspace Projects: Inspiring Makers to Experiment, Create, and Learn by ISBN: 1259644251Publication Date: 2016-10-21Start-to-finish, fun projects for makers of all types, ages, and skill levels! This easy-to-follow guide features dozens of DIY, low-cost projects that will arm you with the skills necessary to dream up and build your own creations. The Big Book of Makerspace Projects: Inspiring Makers to Experiment, Create, and Learn offers practical tips for beginners and open-ended challenges for advanced makers. Each project features non-technical, step-by-step instructions with photos and illustrations to ensure success and expand your imagination. You will learn recyclables hacks, smartphone tweaks, paper circuits, e-textiles, musical instruments, coding and programming, 3-D printing, and much, much more! Discover how to create: * Brushbot warriors, scribble machines, and balloon hovercrafts * Smartphone illusions, holograms, and projections * Paper circuits, origami, greeting cards, and pop-ups * Dodgeball, mazes, and other interesting Scratch games * Organs, guitars, and percussion instruments * Sewed LED bracelets, art cuffs, and Arduino stuffie * Makey Makey and littleBits gadgets * Programs for plug-and-play and Bluetooth-enabled robots * 3D design and printing projects and enhancements
Maker Lab by ISBN: 1465451358Publication Date: 2016-07-05As seen on The Late Late Show with James Corden. Build, invent, create, and discover 28 awesome experiments and activities with Maker Lab. Created in association with the Smithsonian Institution and supporting STEM education initiatives, Maker Lab includes 28 kid-safe projects and crafts that will get young inventors' wheels turning and make science pure fun. Each step-by-step activity is appropriate for kids ages 8-12 and ranked easy, medium, or hard, with an estimated time frame for completion. Requiring only household materials, young makers can build an exploding volcano, race balloon rocket cars, construct a solar system, make a lemon battery, and more. Photographs and facts carefully detail the "why" and "how" of each experiment using real-world examples to provide context so kids can gain a deeper understanding of the scientific principles applied. With a foreword by Jack Andraka, a teen award-winning inventor, Maker Lab will help kids find their inner inventor and create winning projects for school projects, science fairs, and beyond.
Maker Projects for Kids Who Love Woodworking by ISBN: 0778725790Publication Date: 2016-08-25This amazing title instructs young readers on how to shape wooden objects based on their own, unique ideas. Kids will explore this exciting and popular field by learning a few basic techniques of woodworking and what tools to use, which they can then experiment with in safe and accessible projects. Makers and Shakers sidebars introduce kids to furniture makers and builders and to different styles in woodworking
Start Making! by ISBN: 1457187914Publication Date: 2016-04-21Start Making! is a program developed by the Clubhouse Network to engage young people all over the world in Maker-inspired activities. With this guide, you will discover how to plan and coordinate Start Making! projects in your home, school, library, community center, after-school club, or makerspace. You'll learn strategies for engaging young people in creative thinking, developing individual and team projects, and sharing and reflecting on their creations. Each session includes a list of the supplies you'll need, step-by-step instructions for completing the projects, and prompts for stimulating discussion, curiosity, and confidence. These fun do-it-yourself (and do-it-together) projects teach fundamental STEAM concepts -- science, technology, engineering, art, and math -- while introducing young people to the basics of circuitry, design, coding, crafting, and construction. They'll make paper cards and creations that light up, play music using a MaKey MaKey keyboard and Scratch programming, join together to make paintings with light, design and construct 3D sculptures, build a vibrating art-bot that makes drawings, and sew fabric creations with wearable circuits. Dip into the activities once a week, run them as a week-long summer activity, or go through the guide in any way that works for you. By offering your own Start Making! program, you can inspire young people in your community to develop creative ideas, learn new skills, and share their creations. The Clubhouse Network is a global network of community-based centers led by Boston's Museum of Science in collaboration with the MIT Media Lab.
Bound by ISBN: 9781454708674Publication Date: 2015-01-27Bind a book beautifully, with these whimsical and stylish projects from bookbinder extraordinaire Erica Ekrem.With her novel approach to traditional techniques, and the use of repurposed materials, Ekrem has devised creative fun for book artists of all levels. Choose from three categories: Vintage, Nature, and Leather. Make books from mason jars and seashells, a classic leather-bound photo album, and other works of art.
Tiny LEGO Wonders by ISBN: 9781593277352Publication Date: 2016-07-25In this step-by-step guide, you'll learn how to build 40 miniature models of race cars, airplanes, ships, trains, and more. These fun, compact designs will inspire you to get creative with as few as nine LEGO pieces. Imagine what you can build with just a handful of LEGO bricks--almost anything! In Tiny LEGO Wonders, you'll create miniscale models of real vehicles like: A space shuttle Jets, planes, and helicopters France's high-speed TGV train F1 racecars Muscle cars Cargo, cruise, wooden ships, and more! Let your creativity run wild!
Make - Paper Inventions by ISBN: 9781457187520Publication Date: 2015-09-26Paper is incredible stuff. It's easy to cut, but incredibly strong. It's disposable, but can last for centuries. It can stand as stiff as a board, pop up like a spring, or float like a leaf. And its invention changed the world forever. Perfect for kids, parents, and educators, Paper Inventions is a project-based book with full color illustrations, step-by-step instructions, supply lists, and templates that allow you to follow along with the book or devise something entirely new. Each chapter features new projects that will challenge and intrigue everyone, from beginning to experienced Makers. In this book, you'll learn to make: A light-up paper cat that shows how switches and sensors work An action origami robot worm Edible rice paper perfect for secret messages A space rover that moves thanks to paper machinery A paper generator that creates electricity when you tap or rub it Heat-activated paper models that fold themselves A geodesic dome big enough to crawl into--from newspaper!
Makerspace Projects - High Tech
Coding iPhone Apps for Kids by ISBN: 9781593277567Publication Date: 2017-03-02Swift is Apple's popular iOS programming language designed to be beginner-friendly and accessible. Coding iPhone Apps for Kids teaches the fundamentals of programming with Swift and Xcode, the official — and free! — iOS development environment. Coding iPhone Apps for Kids teaches programming basics in Xcode's interactive playground, which shows you the results of your code immediately. Then you'll put your new programming skills to use and make fully-functioning apps. You'll learn how to: Create an app that reminds you to wish your friends a happy birthday Write a function to automatically write customized party invitations! Program a number guessing game with while loops Make a side-scrolling skateboard action game with SpriteKit Hone your programming skills with hands-on examples and gentle step-by-step instructions. Don't just dream up the apps and iOS games you want to see in the world--program them! Covers Swift 3 and Xcode 8. Requires OSX10.10 or higher.
Invent Your Own Computer Games with Python by ISBN: 9781593277956Publication Date: 2016-12-30Invent Your Own Computer Games with Python will show you how to make classic computer games in Python, even if you've never programmed before. Each chapter introduces a new game as well as step-by-step explanations of how the code works. As you build games like Reversi, Hangman, Tic-Tac-Toe, Dragon Realm, Guess the Number, Jokes, Dodger, Bagels, and Sonar, you'll learn how programmers turn their game ideas into reality. You'll also find chapters on game refinements like collision detection and input, Cartesian coordinates, artificial intelligence simulation, sounds and images, debuggers, and cryptography, to help you take your game programming to the next level. Learn how to: Combine loops, variables, input/output, and flow control statements into real working programs Choose the right data structures such as lists, dictionaries, and tuples Debug your programs and find common errors Program simple artificial intelligence to create smarter adversaries Use graphics and animation with Pygame Convert plain text into secret code using cryptography Translate a location on screen into integers your program can identify with Cartesian coordinates Once you've worked your way through the fun and games, you'll have a solid foundation in Python, an understanding of computer science fundamentals, and the confidence to advance your new game programming skills.What new game will you create with the power of Python?The projects in this book are compatible with Python 3.
The LEGO Animation Book by ISBN: 9781593277413Publication Date: 2016-10-29Have you ever wondered what your LEGO creations would look like on the big screen? The LEGO Animation Book will show you how to bring your models to life with stop-motion animation--no experience required! Follow step-by-step instructions to make your first animation, and then explore the entire filmmaking process, from storyboards to post-production. Along the way, you'll learn how to: Create special effects like explosions and flying minifigures Convey action and emotion with your minifigure actors Design sets for animation--make three buildings look like an entire city! Light, frame, and capture consistent photos Add detail and scope to your films by building in different scales Build camera dollies and rigs out of LEGO bricks Choose cameras, software, and other essential animation tools Dive into the world of animation and discover a whole new way to play! For ages 10+
Animation Lab for Kids by ISBN: 9781631591181Publication Date: 2016-10-01Introduce kids to stop-motion animation and animated filmmaking. Animation is everywhere--from movies and TV to apps and video games--and today's tech-savvy kids know all about it. With the accessibility and ease of use of cameras and video-editing software, people of all ages are learning how to make stop-motion animation. In Animation Lab for Kids, artists, teachers, and authors Laura Bellmont and Emily Brink present exciting, fun, hands-on projects that teach kids a range of animation techniques. From the classic zoetrope, flip book, and cel methods (which don't require any devices or technology) to different methods of shooting, the lessons require no previous experience for either child or adult. Experimenting with a variety of art materials (drawing, clay, and paper cut-outs), young animators will learn to plan a film through writing, storyboarding, and creating sets. The book also features helpful and informative sidebars on the history of the early animation techniques as well as the inspiring work of innovative and influential animators, including Kirsten Lepore, PES, Hailey Morris, and William Kentridge. The authors are co-founders and lead teachers of The Good School, an arts-education school that cultivates and combines traditional art-making skills and the technologies involved in stop-motion animation filmmaking. They teach animation techniques at camps, schools, and events, including the New York International Children's Film Festival.
NYC Makerspaces -- an incomplete list
Beam Center -- Beam Center powers youth development and learning with creation, collaboration and educator professional development. We embed our teaching in workshops and projects inspired by our faculty's creative and technical practices.
Dazzling Discoveries -- A STEM Education Center. A place to explore, create and learn.For kids. For adults. For families.
Fat Cat Fab Lab -- Fat Cat FAB LAB is a makerspace in the West Village, Manhattan NYC. A place for learning, designing, collaborating and building. We offer traditional and digital fabrication tools, workshops and events with an emphasis on low cost open source innovation.
Hack Manhattan -- Hack Manhattan is a community hackerspace in New York City where people come together to work on projects and share knowledge. Our space has tools and materials for working on electronics, wood, metal, textiles and 3D printing.
Makerspace Meetup -- Meetup is an online social networking portal that facilitates offline group meetings in various localities around the world. Meetup allows members to find and join groups unified by a common interest, in this case makerspaces.
Makerspace of NYSCI -- Maker Space at NYSCI is open to the public most weekends and for special events. Our focus is on fun, educational, family oriented workshops that teach K-12 students how to use real tools to make real things.
NYC Resistor -- NYC Resistor is a hacker collective with a shared space located in Boerum Hill, Brooklyn. We meet regularly to share knowledge, hack on projects together, and build community.
Staten Island Maker Space -- Founded in 2013, we are a non-profit, STEAM education and community innovation center offering low-cost access to individuals and groups to the tools, equipment, and resources in our 6000 sq ft facility.
NYCPS is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please email libraries@schools.nyc.gov