Fashion: Fashion
Charles Nolan Reading Room's Fashion Collection
HSFI READS about fashion with passion!
Our overall goal is to
- Connect students with designers, fashion houses, textiles, history of fashion, accessories and more...
- Enable students to start building a pathway to their future through exploration of dynamic nonfiction books that cover all aspects of fashion
- To support students in the reading of increasingly complex informational text.
- To foster an intrinsic love of reading cultivating a life-long passion for fashion.
- Art and fashion are alligned!
- CCD Fashion Bitmoji Library @ HSFIClick on each book to see an interview, more information about the book or interesting tidbits of knowledge about fashion.
Destiny Discover
In the Charles Nolan Reading Room
Tulip Dress by Charles James
Charles James Retrospective at the Metropolitan Museum Costume Institute
Alexander McQueen
Alexander McQueen's shoes at the Museum of Savage Beauty Albert and Victoria Museum in London, England
Barbie Fashion Icon
Barbie's 60th Anniversary
Bad girls of fashion : style rebels from Cleopatra to Lady Gaga by Call Number: CNRR 391 CROISBN: 9781554517862Publication Date: 2016Explores the history of woman's fashion and the celebrities in the industry.
Colors in Fashion by Call Number: CNRR 746.9 COLISBN: 9781474273688Publication Date: 2017Explores the social role of color in fashion.
Denim : street style, vintage, obsession by Call Number: CNRR 746.9 LEVISBN: 9780847862306Publication Date: 2018"This street-style bible take a chic and sexy look at the aesthetic power of blue jeans, featuring stylish women around the world wearing their favorite denim in their own unique way. Presenting street style at its best, Denim is also a veritable who's who of the denim style world, featuring the personal look of trendsetters, stylists, and vintage dealers, as well as denim brand founders, designers, and shop owners"--Back cover.
Fashion Climbing by Call Number: B CunninghamISBN: 9780525558705Publication Date: 2018Bill Cunningham discusses his life and career as a fashion designer and photographer.
Mending matters by Call Number: CNRR 646 RodISBN: 9781419729478Publication Date: 2018Mending Matters explores sewing on two levels: First, it includes more than 20 hands-on projects that showcase current trends in visible mending that are edgy, modern, and bold--but draw on traditional stitching. It does all this through just four very simple mending techniques: exterior patches, interior patches, slow stitches, darning, and weaving. In addition, the book addresses the way mending leads to a more mindful relationship to fashion and to overall well-being. In essays that accompany each how-to chapter, Katrina Rodabaugh explores mending as a metaphor for appreciating our own naturally flawed selves, and she examines the ways in which mending teaches us new skills, self-reliance, and confidence, all gained from making things with our own hands.
The prince and the dressmaker by Call Number: 741.5 WANISBN: 9781250159854Publication Date: 2018"Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride--or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia--the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion! Sebastian's secret weapon (and best friend) is the brilliant dressmaker Frances--one of only two people who know the truth: sometimes this boy wears dresses. But Frances dreams of greatness, and being someone's secret weapon means being a secret. Forever. How long can Frances defer her dreams to protect a friend?"--Back cover.
Punk : chaos to couture by Call Number: CNRR 391.009047 BouISBN: 9780300191851Publication Date: 2013Showcases an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in 2013 that examined punk's influence on high fashion, featuring designs by Givenchy, Vivienne Westwood, and Balmain.
Tartan + Tween by Call Number: CNRR 391 YOUISBN: 9780711238220Publication Date: 2017Presents an overview of the history of tartan and tweed fabrics and their use in contemporary fashion design, music, art, and film.
Thank You Andy WarholCall Number: 702.9 JohISBN: 9780985169602Publication Date: 201272 interview stories in which artists and other personalities discuss the influence of Andy Warhol on their work and lives.
Thriftstyle Thriftstyle : the ultimate bargain shopper's guide to smart fashion by Call Number: CNRR 646.34 ENGISBN: 9781623545024Publication Date: 2017"A must-have guide for bargain-hunting fashionistas looking to make a statement without sabotaging their budgets. In this photo-filled, easy-to-use resource, shoppers will learn to navigate the racks of their local consignment shop, spot name brands like Versace, Dior, and Burberry, select the best quality items, and repair secondhand clothes that need some love"--Provided by publisher.
FashionIcon: Barbie's Birthday
- Barbie's Birthday HSFI Designs a DressHSFI Student's Design a Dress for Barbie's 60th Birthday
NOVEL Electronic Research
Fashion Books arranged by Dewey Decimal
Chanel and Her World by ISBN: 0865651590Publication Date: 2005-03-09Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel (1883-1971) is a fashion icon unlike any other. She invented modern clothing for women: at the height of the Belle Époque, she stripped women of their corsets and feathers, bobbed their hair, put them in bathing suits, and sent them out to get tanned in the sun. She introduced slacks, costume jewelry, and the exquisitely comfortable suit. She made the first couture perfume--No. 5--which remains the most popular scent ever created. In this beautiful volume, the glorious life of the incomparable Coco Chanel shines again through hundreds of illustrations and the lively prose of Edmonde Charles-Roux, her official biographer and close friend.
Why Don't You ... ? by Call Number: B VerlandISBN: 0789306271Publication Date: 2001-11-03Presents a collection of fashion and decorating ideas taken from the pages of Harper's Bazaar along with a history of Diana Vreeland's years at the magazine.
Fashion Makers Fashion Shapers by Call Number: CNRR 920 JaeISBN: 9780500288245Publication Date: 2009-10-19At the heart of this book is a series of in-depth interviews with famous designers—the Fashion Makers—unveiling the process that creates an appealing design, collection, and brand. With illustrations that offer a fashion feast, we discover why handcraft is so important to Dries Van Noten, what Paul Smith learned from his early entrepreneurial experiences, and why the founder of A.P.C., Jean Touitou, “doesn’t make bags for bitches.” But it’s not just the designers who make or break a brand. The Fashion Shapers—editors, stylists, buyers, PR specialists, and educators—reveal their own distinctive roles. How does Alexandre de Betak create fashion shows for John Galliano, Hussein Chalayan, or Victoria’s Secret? How did Armand Hadida, founder of L’Eclaireur shops in Paris and Tokyo, redefine the relationship between salesperson and consumer? This book will be a coveted and covetable purchase for every fashion student, every fashion professional, and everyone who wants to know what makes fashion function.
| Fashion and fiction : dress in art and literature in Stuart England |
| Aileen Ribeiro. |
 |
||||||
|
||||||
Form, Fit, Fashion by Call Number: FR 746.9 CalISBN: 9781592535415Publication Date: 2009-12-01An indispensable primer for students and first-stop reference for professionals, Form, Fit, and Fashion guides the fashion designer through the entire design process, from conceiving a garment to marketing it. This handbook collects the information and ideas essential to planning and executing fashion projects of every scale and distills them in an easy-to-use format that is compact enough to slip into a tote. Linking six central phases in the cycle of fashion--research, editing, design, construction, connection, and evolution--Form, Fit, and Fashion will help designers to develop effective strategies for building a cohesive collection and communicating their vision.
Real-Resumes for Retailing, Modeling, Fashion and Beauty Jobs by Call Number: CNRR 650.194 ReaISBN: 188528831XPublication Date: 2002-10-01
Start Your Own Fashion Accessories Business by Call Number: 687 ReaISBN: 9781599182704Publication Date: 2009-04-01A billion-dollar industry, fashion accessories offer a world of business possibilities for stylish entrepreneurs like you! From jewelry and handbags to scarves and hats, Entrepreneur covers the hottest accessories businesses within the flourishing fashion industry. Learn how to create and sell your own accessories, buy wholesale accessories for resale, or establish your own online or traditional store! Providing insider advice, tips, and tricks along the way, our expert fashionistas take you step by step and show you how to discover your specialty, establish your business, set up your home workshop and office, manage your finances, and much more! * Choose from popular fashion accessory niches-- handcrafted jewelry, handbags, belts, scarves, and hats * Discover the right sales avenue for your products * Outfit your home workshop and office with the right tools and supplies * Partner with retailers and designers to boost brand recognition * Efficiently manage inventory and supplies for easy order fulfillment * Boost profits by expanding and cross-marketing your product line * And more Turn your passion for fashion into a successful business today!
| World textiles : a concise history | ||
| Mary Schoeser. | ||
| (Series: World of art) | ||
|
||||||||||
|
|
|||||||||
|
|
| Traces the history of textiles from the earliest needles of twenty-five thousand years ago to the techno textiles of the twenty-first century, discussing how they have been fundamental to human existence. | |
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
TitlePeek™
 |
|
||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||
Icons of Fashion by Call Number: CNRR 391.009 IcoISBN: 3791333127Publication Date: 2006-04-25Now available in an attractively priced flexi edition, this best-selling book is an opulent and absorbing overview of the fashion world throughout the twentieth century. From Coco Chanel to Christian Dior, Kenzo to Versace, grunge to haute couture, every period and major name in twentieth-century fashion is included in this comprehensive collection of fascinating photographs, drawings, and texts. Organized into sections according to style, it features double-page spreads highlighting every aspect of fashion: designers, models, critics, and fashion photographers. Gorgeous images by Peter Lindbergh, Nick Knight, Mario Testino, and others capture the attitudes and artistry of fashion as it evolved over the decades. As glamorous as its subject, this colourful survey will provide inspiration for anyone fascinated with the world of fashion.
FIT Fashion Art Blog
- FIT Fashion Art BlogFIT State Museum is open to the public
Loading ...
About HSFI READS
High School of Fashion Industries has a fashion library in the Charles Nolan Reading Room. Teachers and students use the room for inspiration, homework, reports and reading pleasure. Charles Nolan was an American Designer with a shop on Gansevoort Street in Greenwich Village. He was well know for dressing political stars and using unusual models for his runway shows. His partner Andy Tobias donated his books, ephemeral fashion archives and created our beautiful fashion library in memory of Charles who passed away too young. "He made the world beautiful." says the plaque hanging about fashion library door. Thanks to Daryl Blank, Principal for his efforts in creating this room for HSFI students.
NYCPS is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please email libraries@schools.nyc.gov