It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: American Presidency
• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.
The American Presidency is a topic that is prevalent throughout the seventh and eighth grade curriculum. The materials in this collection allow students access to foundational US documents and immerse them in academic vocabulary. In addition, it is a topic that every student should be knowledgeable about as a citizen of the United States. This collection aligns with the Common Core Learning Standards because it offers a range of complex informational texts and primary source documents on many topics including, biographies of Presidents and First Ladies, the electoral college, presidential speeches, Watergate, the US Constitution and many more.
All the Presidents - An interview with Drew Friedman
All the Presidents by Drew Friedman; Kurt Andersen
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
All The Presidents is created by the caricaturist of the Barack Obama/George Washington mash-up inauguration cover for The New Yorker in 2009. It features everyone from George Washington to Donald Trump, accompanied by presidential factoids.
Premiering on May 6, 2020, Becoming is an intimate look into the life of former First Lady Michelle Obama during a moment of profound change, not only for her personally but for the country she and her husband served over eight impactful years in the White House. The film offers a rare and up-close look at her life, taking viewers behind the scenes as she embarks on a 34-city tour that highlights the power of community to bridge our divides and the spirit of connection that comes when we openly and honestly share our stories.
Becoming by Michelle Obama
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER
Highlighted titles from the collection
The Book of Gutsy Women by Hillary Rodham Clinton; Chelsea Clinton
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Hillary Rodham Clinton and her daughter, Chelsea, share the stories of the gutsy women who have inspired them. If history shows one thing, it's that the world needs gutsy women.
Shade by Pete Souza
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
From Pete Souza, As Chief Official White House Photographer, Shade is a portrait in Presidential contrasts, telling the tale of the Obama and Trump administrations through a series of visual juxtapositions.
The Matriarch by Susan Page
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
THE MATRIARCH tells the riveting tale of a woman who helped define two American presidencies and an entire political era. She invested herself deeply in expanding literacy programs in America, She is seen as one of the most unique and influential women in American history.
Sisters First by Barbara Pierce Bush; Ramona Kaulitzki (Illustrator); Jenna Bush Hager
Publication Date: 2019-11-12
A celebration of the bond between sisters inspired by the spirited childhood of Jenna Bush Hager and Barbara Pierce Bush, authors of the #1 New York Times bestseller Sisters First: Stories from Our Wild and Wonderful Life.
Donald Trump by Dominick Reston
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Donald Trump: 45th US President explores Trump's early life, his formative years, his career, and the campaign that brought him into office as America's 45th president.
Students will examine the election process, a key aspect of our political system, from beginning to end in this book. The content covers what it means to be a candidate, where and when people vote, and why the election process is so important.
This book provides a thorough examination of the historical and political context of key, critical moments in constitutional history and presidential power that makes possible opportunities for students to explore American politics.
This book covers George Washington's tenure through the 2012 election and recognizes major themes across administrations to reach overall conclusions about the nature of the institution and its future.
The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email email@example.com, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.