Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NYCDOE Department of Library Services: Library Job Openings 2022-2023

Elementary Schools

Community School 55, located at 450 St. Paul's Place in the Bronx is seeking a NYSED Certified School Librarian to build up a library from the ground up. There is a lot of opportunity at 55 with a supportive administration and an innovative vision for developing an integral program. Interested candidates should sent resumes to Assistant Principal Nmeregiri Nwogu at NNwogu@schools.nyc.gov and Principal Luis Torres at LTorres2@schools.nyc.gov

Lower School Librarian for the Dwight School (Private School)
Full Time, 7:30am – 4pm
Dwight School, an innovative preschool-grade 12 coeducational school on the Upper West side of Manhattan, is currently seeking a dynamic Lower School (grades 1-5) Librarian to begin in August 2022. Find more information here, including a job description. 

PS 20K Clinton Hill
Principal: Lena Barbera: LBarbera@schools.nyc.gov. Library is not automated. 

PS 92Q Harry T. Stewart Sr.

Principal: Daisy Morales: DMorales29@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny. Books last circulated in 2018.

PS 106K Edward Everett Hale
Principal: Magaly Moncayo: MMoncayo@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny

PS 194M Countee Cullen

Principal: Wanda Acevedo: WAcevedo@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny but system never used. Only 800 books in the catalog.

PS 360X
Principal: Susan Rivera: SRivera32@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny; The PS 360 Library was beautifully renovated by Target in 2012. It held the Cooperative Collection Development collection for Storytelling and Folklore from 2017 - 2020.  PS 360 is a 500 seat PK-5th grade school in the Kingsbridge section of the north Bronx.

PS 398Q The Hector Figueroa School
Principal: Erica Urena Thus: EUrenaT@schools.nyc.gov;  Library is automated on Destiny but it has never been used. Only 460 books on catalog.

K-8 Schools

The Cypress Hills Community School, PS 89, is a small 3K-8 community-based dual language school located in Brooklyn, NY. It was founded in 1997 by parents and community members in the neighborhood and parents continue to be actively involved in the running of the school. We are committed to teaching linguistically diverse children in both English and Spanish through child-centered methods. We are currently seeking an energetic, library media specialist.

The school librarian will contribute to the well-rounded development of K-8 grade students by implementing a standards based library curriculum with an emphasis on information literacy, facilitating independent reading capacity, and fostering a love for the written word.  The position operates on a fixed schedule that sees classes K-8 once weekly. Proper NY State Certification required.

Please send letter of interest and resume via email to: 

Irene Leon, Principal at ILeon@schools.nyc.gov  and Ruby Sheets, Math Coach at RSheets2@schools.nyc.gov

PS/IS 45K Horace E. Greene

Principal: Nadine Marshall: NMarshall@schools.nyc.govLibrary is automated on Destiny.

PS 89K Cypress Hills

Principal: Irene Leon: ILeon@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny.

PS 161M Pedro Albizu Campos

Principal: Jasmira Caceres: JCaceres4@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny. Former librarian retired in 2020.

PS/IS 498X Van Nest Academy

Principal: Carol Ann Gilligan: CGillig2@schools.nyc.govLibrary is automated on Destiny. PS/MS 498X seeks a NYSED Certified School Librarians to teach research skills. The library collection needs to be organized and inventoried. This is a great opportunity to rebuild a library program and make it an integral part of the school community. 

The Lexington Academy

Principal: Antonio Hernandez: AHernan7@schools.nyc.govLibrary is automated on Destiny.

PS/IS 78Q

We are in need of a certified Librarian.  We are a PK-8 school and have been searching for a certified librarian for multiple years for our Middle School. Contact Principal Louis Pavone at: LPavone@schools.nyc.gov

PS/IS 180 Seeall Academy K

Library is in the process of being weeded and automated after being closed for several years. Please contact Angelo Sacco at ASacco@schools.nyc.gov if interested in applying.

 

Middle Schools

IS 2 on Staten Island Looking for Permanent Substitute Librarian

IS 2 on Staten Island is looking for a long time permanent substitute school librarian leading to a possible full-time school librarian position in the fall. This is an ideal opportunity for someone enrolled in a school library graduate program and completing their NYSED School Librarian Certification or newly graduated.  

Interested candidates should send resumes to Principal (IA) Jill Passantino at JPassantino2@schools.nyc.gov.

IS 281K Joseph B. Cavallaro

Principal: Maria Bender: MBender@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny; This is a great opportunity to rebuild a library program that was a model for the district. 

K662 Liberty Avenue Middle School

Principal: Kaia Nordtvedt: KNordtvedt@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny.

Q289 Queens United Middle School

Principal: Toshalyn Francis: TFrancis8@schools.nyc.gov; Shares Destiny Catalog with PS 156Q Laurelton 

IS 27R Annie S. Prall

Principal: Eileen Barone: EBarone5@schools.nyc.gov; Seeking a NYSED Certified School Librarian; Library is automated on Destiny.

High Schools

M047 The American Sign Language and English Secondary School https://www.47aslhs.net/ 

Principal: Watta Shama: wshama@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny.

John Bowne High School, Queens

Principal: Laura Izzo Iannelli: LIzzoiannelli@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny.

Edward R. Murrow High School, Brooklyn

Principal: Allen Barge; ABarge@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny.

High School for Health Professions, Manhattan

Principal: Robert Gentile: RGentil@schools.nyc.gov

Library is part of a campus and is on Destiny.

Vacancy notes: For more information, please visit the website: http:/lhphsync.org 

Seward Park Campus: New Design High School 

Principal: Scott Conti: SConti@schools.nyc.gov

Library is part of the Seward Park Campus and is on Destiny.

Martin Van Buren High School, Queens 

Principal: Deborah Nettleford: DNettleford@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny. Martin Van Buren High School also serves a D75 school. 

Newcomers High School, Queens 

Principal: Elizabeth Messmann: EMessman@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny

Long Island City High School, Queens 

Principal: Vivian Selenikas: VSeleni@schools.nyc.gov; Library is automated on Destiny

Grace Dodge Campus: Bronx Academy for Software Engineering

Principal: Benjamin Grossman: BGrossman@schools.nyc.gov; Library is part of the Grace Dodge Campus and is automated on Destiny.

Grace Dodge Campus High School for Energy and Technology

Principal: Marie Guillaume: MGuilla@schools.nyc.gov; Library is part of the Grace Dodge Campus and is automated on Destiny.

Bathgate Educational Campus: Urban Assembly School for Applied Math and Science

Principal: Ingrid Chung: IChung3@schools.nyc.gov; This school is part of the Bathgate Educational Campus and is automated on Destiny.

The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted. We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.