Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NYCDOE Department of Library Services: Librarian Openings for 2021-2022

News and Notes

If you missed the first cohort of the Novice Librarian Institute, do not fret! We are in the process of organizing Cohort II. Stay tuned for dates and registration information. 

Library Services will be hosting a Newly Assigned Cohort for new school librarians entering the profession, newly hired school librarians serving in public or non-public schools, and school librarians with less than 3 years experience. Registration is available at http://nycdoe.libguides.com/PL.   

Elementary Schools

M161 - P.S. 161 Pedro Albizu Campos (K-8)

Principal: Patricia Balbuena

Email: PBalbue@schools.nyc.gov


M115 - P.S. 115 Alexander Humboldt

Principal: Boris Consuenga

Email: BConsue@schools.nyc.gov


X025 - P.S. 025 Bilingual School

Principal: Raquel Pevey

Email: RPevey@schools.nyc.gov


X093 - P.S. 093 Albert G. Oliver

Principal: Jonathan Kaplan

Email: JKaplan15@schools.nyc.gov


K099 - P.S. 099 Isaac Asimov (K-8)

Principal: Gregory Pirraglia

Email: GPirrag@schools.nyc.gov



Library is automated on Destiny. 

PS 75M is a K-5 school of approximately 500 students in Manhattan comprised of Gen ed, dual language Eng/Spanish, and ASD Nest classes. They are seeking a school librarian that is bilingual, but not required.  This is an excellent opportunity for someone to take the lead and develop an exciting and collaborative library programs for a small, community-based school!

If interested, send resume and cover letter to Jen Zunt, Business Manager at JZunt@schools.nyc.gov

PS/MS 29X The Melrose School supporting grades 3K-8 is looking for a NYSED Certified School Librarian. The library has an automated collection on Destiny and the library serves close to 800 students. Interested candidates, please email resume and cover letter to Principal Natalie Morman at NMorman@schools.nyc.gov


Cypress Hills Community School, PS/IS 89, is a small 3K-8, community-based dual language school located in Brooklyn, NY.  It was founded in 1997 by parents and community members.  We are committed to teaching linguistically diverse children in both English and Spanish through child-centered methods.  We are currently seeking an energetic, bilingual (Spanish/English) librarian to support the needs of our bilingual community.

Eligible candidates can send their resume and letter of interest to Irene Leon, Principal at ILeon@schools.nyc.gov


Promising opportunity to build a school library program from the ground up in East Harlem. 3K-8th grade school centered around Social Justice with a robust Dual Language program, seeks an innovative and collaborative NYSED certified school librarian interested in developing a school library program rooted in technology and research that is integral to the school community. Bilingual Spanish/English is preferred.  

Please note, there is no existing program, which meets the above criteria, however there is some library automation. The collection will need to be weeded and fully automated.  

Interested candidates, please send resumes to Ms. Aisha Beverly at abeverly@schools.nyc.gov.  

http://psms57.org/ 


PS 165K in Brownsville, Brooklyn is looking for a full-time NYSED Certified School Librarian for their fully funded Robin Hood Library. The library is automated on Destiny, the program includes additional funding for collection and programming, a full-time para, and professional learning via the NYCSLS Robin Hood Cohort. Expectations of Robin Hood Libraries is available here

Interested candidates should send a resume and cover letter to Principal Jason Rivers at jrivers3@schools.nyc.gov


P.S./I.S. 187 Hudson Cliffs School is looking for a NYSED Certified School Librarian to serve 785 plus students in a PreK-8 school. The library is well-established, automated, and integral to the school community. Interested candidates should send resumes to Principal Emel Topbas-Mejia at etopbasmejia@schools.nyc.gov.  

Secondary Schools

F-status School Librarian Vacancy at Dr. Susan S. McKinney Secondary School of the Arts/13K265. Small secondary school in Brooklyn with a large performing arts program serving grades 6-12 looking to develop a strong school library program. Interested candidates, please send your resume and cover letter to Principal Edgar Lin at elin@schools.nyc.gov

This is a great opportunity for an aspiring school librarian with an internship certification not ready to work full-time. Possibility for the position becoming full-time in the future exists. 


Opportunity to build a school library program from the ground up in the Bronx. Small Bronx urban college and career preparatory school serving grades 9-12 seeks an innovative school librarian interested in developing a school library program that is integral to the school community. Bilingual Spanish/English is preferred. 

Please note, there is no existing program, nor library automation. The collection will need to be weeded and automated. 

Interested candidates, please send resumes to Dr. Asya Johnson at ajohnson64@schools.nyc.gov

https://www.longwoodprep.org/


IS 254X is looking for a NYSED Certified School Librarian. IS 254 serves over 470 students in the Bronx. The library is automated on Destiny. Interested candidates please send resumes and cover letters to Principal Javier Ocampo at jocampo@schools.nyc.gov.   


Creston Campus, a shared campus in the Bronx with two elementary schools and one middle school seeks a NYSED Certified School Librarian. There is a shared catalog for the library on Destiny. Interested candidates can send resumes to Principal Mellisa Miller at mmiller3@schools.nyc.gov


This is an opportunity to work with one of the best school librarians in NYC at Forest Hills High School!!!! Library collection has been weeded, current, and automated. Program is established and well-supported. Interested candidates, please send resumes and cover letters to AP Maureen Troy at MTroy@schools.nyc.gov.  


Thomas Jefferson Campus is looking for an innovative school librarian to serve four small secondary schools on a shared campus. The East New York campus is a part of the Campus Librarians Network (CLN) with support provided by the NYC DOE Department of Library Services and New Visions for Public Schools. Candidates must by NYSED certified as a School Librarian. Bilingual Spanish is preferred, but not required.

Interested candidates should send resumes to Principal James Anderson at janders@schools.nyc.gov

Please note, the library collection is automated on Destiny, but the library program has not been functional during the pandemic. Collection will most likely need to be weeded and updated. 


A shared campus library serving two middle schools in Bushwick, Brooklyn (IS 347/IS 349) is seeking a NYSED Certified School Librarian The library has an instance of Destiny, but the catalog will need to be updated, collection weeded, and an inventory completed. The schools have not had a program for quite a while, so this is an opportunity to build something up and make it a sustainable part of the school community. Interested candidates should send resumes to Principal Roxana Toro at rtoro6@schools.nyc.gov


K014 - J.H.S. 014 Shell Bank

Principal: Teri Ahearn

Email: TAhearn@schools.nyc.gov


R440 - New Dorp High School

Principal: Deirdre Deangelis Dales

Email: ddeange@schools.nyc.gov


R600 - Ralph R. McKee Career and Technical Education High

Principal: Gregory Bowen

Email: GBowen@schools.nyc.gov


M260 - The Clinton School

Principal: Jonathan Levin

Email: jlevin@schools.nyc.gov


X219 - I.S. 219 New Venture School

Principal: Kizhaya Roberts 

Email: KRoberts3@schools.nyc.gov


M054 - J.H.S. 054 Booker T. Washington

 

JHS 54 is a great school 

with a very supportive administration, staff and parents. Our kids are readers. The collection is large, and the library

renovation is almost complete. 

Principal: Elana Elster

Email: EElster@schools.nyc.gov


K405 - Midwood High School

Principal: Michael Mcdonnell

Email: MMcdonn2@schools.nyc.gov


Q227 - I.S. 227 Louis Armstrong

Principal: Helen Ponilla

Email: HPonell@schools.nyc.gov 


K002 - Parkside Preparatory Academy

Principal: Arlene Burnett

Email: ABurnet2@schools.nyc.gov 

 

The DOE is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted. We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please please call 917-521-3654, email mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov, or mail to: Michael Dodes, 4360 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY, 10033 for assistance.