NYCSLS Cooperative Collection Development Grant
The New York City School Library System (NYCSLS) is pleased to offer the Cooperative Collection Development (CCD) MiniGrant providing funds to build a specialized digital library collection on the Sora reading platform. The goal of CCD is to provide resource sharing opportunities among member libraries, support schools' curricular and instructional processes by promoting cooperative planning, selection, evaluation, and sharing of specialized library resources. The Cooperative Collection Development Program is funded by the New York State Education Department. The CCD MiniGrant is available to public school librarians and non-public school librarians. Librarians curating the CCD collections will become subject specialists for the school, as well as the NYCSLS library community, and are expected to share their knowledge and expertise.
Grantees will receive access to professional learning opportunities, educational resources to support integrating the digital CCD collection into the curriculum, up to $2,500 for eBooks and digital audiobooks to be hosted on Sora, and a one-year subscription to LibGuides for their school.
Grantees will be tasked with researching the selected subject area, using the NYC DOE Collection Development Policy (http://nycdoe.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=21314214) to curate a collection on Sora, build and maintain a subject-specific LibGuide (https://nycdoe.libguides.com/nyc-ccd), and provide a minimum of one Activate the Stacks event during the school year. Activate the Stacks were created to share the expertise of CCD Librarians, highlight specialized subject areas, book talk new and forthcoming titles, and introduce content teachers and other librarians to the CCD Collections. All workshops will be virtual, recorded for future access from the CCD LibGuide, and a minimum of 30 minutes.
The application should be submitted online at https://forms.gle/YD4Nu982XMufm8fa6. A hard copy of the application is attached for your planning purposes.