Skip to main content

Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: Teen Health and Fitness

• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.

This collection . . .

Teen Health & Fitness

Encouraging students to conduct independent research on health and fitness topics for success in daily living. Non-fiction resources and novels engage students in issues and concerns. To see titles on a topic, click below.

Topics include:

  • Nutrition and Diet
  • Healthy Cooking and Food Safety
  • Sports Fitness, Dance and Exercise
  • Substance abuse
    Physical and Mental Health
  • Coping with Families and Peers 
  • The impact of war, poverty and disasters on families around the world.

 

How This Collection is Used in My School

How the Teen Health & Fitness Collection is Used :

  • Science classes the incidence, symptoms, treatment and outcomes and implications of  local and world wide diseases and chronic conditions.
  • Guidance small groups use novels and non-fiction titles to promote discussion and develop coping strategies for stress, anxiety, anger, poor body image and family problems.  
  • Health classes stress healthy cooking, nutrition, diet, exercise and dealing with addiction.  Titles are widely used preparing for worksops and displays for the Annual Health Fair.
  • Humanities classes use titles to develop Common Core pursuasive essays and provide evidence for their arguments.
  • Students read novels and research non-fiction titles for Personal Growth.
  • Model UN participants use titles to support their position papers on world health issues.

 

Show Me More

Slideshow of Booker t. Washington Library during Early Academy. Students come before school begins to use the library.

Art Students Create Giant Fruit & Veggie Posters for the Cafeteria

Students Research Bacteria & Viruses. Parent Science Mentors Assist.

Highlighted titles from the collection

Teen Health & Fitness

The Teen Health & Fitness Collection supports:

  • Health
  • Guidance
  • Science
  • Art
  • Humanities
  • Personal Growth
  • Critical Thinking and Decision Making
  • Model UN

It encourages students to conduct independent research on health and fitness topics for success in daily living. Non-fiction resources and novels engage students in issues and concerns.

Topics include:

  • Nutrition and Diet
  • Healthy Cooking and Food Safety
  • Sports Fitness, Dance and Exercise
  • Substance abuse
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Coping with Families and Peers
  • The impact of war, poverty and disasters on families around the world.

Physical health topics include living with chronic conditions like diabetes, asthma,  autism, and preventing and treating diseases like cancer, AIDS, malaria, and STD. Mental health issues include dealing with eating disorders, bullying, anger management, peer pressure, depression, healthy relationships, and stress. Social issues linked to mental and physical health are also explored through novels, for example child abuse, alcoholism, peer pressure, death in the family, and the impact of war, poverty and disasters. Small book sets are available for book clubs, guidance study groups,  and to support the Model UN Program.

How Teen Health & Fitness is Used

  • Science classes the incidence, symptoms, treatment and outcomes and implications of  local and world wide diseases and chronic conditions.
  • Guidance small groups use novels and non-fiction titles to promote discussion and develop coping strategies for stress, anxiety, anger, poor body image and family problems. 
  • Health classes stress healthy cooking, nutrition, diet, exercise and dealing with addiction.  Titles are widely used preparing for workshops and displays for the Annual Health Fair.
  • Humanities classes use titles to develop Common Core persuasive essays and provide evidence for their arguments.
  • Science students investigate bacteria and sample school locations where bacteria are found.
  • Math classes practice fractions, examining recipes and modifying them to serve more people. A classroom tasting is a popular culmination activity. Yum.
  • Art Classes make giant Fruit Veggie Posters for the Cafeteria.
  • Students read novels and research non-fiction titles for Personal Growth.
  • Model UN participants use titles to support their position papers on world health issues.

6th Grade Olympics Stress Fitness & Fun

Curator

Ms. Liz Goldfarb

Booker T. Washington MS 54

103 W. 107th St. NY, NY 10025

212-678-2861 ext. 3331

egoldfa@schools.nyc.gov

Health & Fitness Apps

The 25 Best Fitness Apps for 2016 By  Jill Duffy

PC Magazine reviews the best apps for fitness, health, and excercise including music specifically designed for running, exercise, yoga, Zumba, Spinning, salsa dancing, bicycling, and more. Android and iPhone platforms, free and inexpensive.

Runtastic Heart Rate

Check your heart rate anytime, anywhere - when you wake up, before and after exercise, or before a big meeting. The Runtastic Heart Rate App will measure your heartbeat with great accuracy, using your smartphone camera sensor! Instant, free, and excellent for the health and fitness community. Free download for the Android.

 iTriage

Created by two ER docs,  iTriage helps you answer questions like: "What medical condition could I have?" and "Where should I go for treatment?" The app lets you find hospital, urgent care clinics, doctors and pharmacies close to your location, and includes maps and directions to facilities. iTriage lists thousands of medical symptoms, diseases, procedures, and medications. There's a list of emergency hotlines, and physician and nurse advice lines. The app lets you  save, easily access, and share healthcare information.Free for iPhones and Android Smartphones.

Chemical Cuisine

Have you ever looked at a food label and not known what some of the ingredients were? Factory-made foods have made chemical additives a significant part of our diet. Chemical Cuisine, from the Center for Science in the Public Interest, features a searchable and filterable list of food additives, their descriptions, and safety ratings to help you make healthy decisions. Learn about a new additive every time you start up the app on the Home screen. When CSPI updates or adds new information about a food additive, the Chemical Cuisine app will let you know by displaying a badge on the additive. Free for Android, also compatible with iPhone, iPad and iPod touch. Requires i0S 4.0 or later.

Blood Pressure (My Heart) Kimaszpwski Szumon

This application for monitoring blood pressure can store and analyze all your measurements. Allows you to view them on an interactive charts, analyze the automatically generated statistics blood pressure, check their blood pressure category, edit records, even send records to your doctor. Free with upgrade versions at a cost. Android.

Instant Heart Rate - Heart Rate Monitor by Azumio

A similar app for Apple. Free. Compatible with iPhone, iPad and Android. Free basic plan with upgrades for a small fee.

Noom Weight Loss Coach

Get all the tools and guidance you need to lose weight. Noom Weight Loss Coach is a personalized coach that helps you form healthy habits through daily tasks, meal logging, and exercise tracking. Free for Android and iPhone.

Fooducate

This grocery-store navigator aims to help people better analyze food labels and get key information without swimming through unnecessary details.
The app allows users to scan items right in the store and will highlight the product's positive and negative attributes. It grades each item based on its "healthiness," and will even offer up a healthier alternative if one is available.  Free ("Plus" version, $3.99). Available for iOS and Android.

Zombies, Run!

Run for your life! This action-packed app turns a jog in the park, or a run on the treadmill into a thrilling game (and the ability to turn it into a zombie chase).
 Fitness turns into a real-live video game — save your base, and avoid the hordes of zombies while walking to work. Create custom playlists so the story unfolds through your favorite songs. Cost: $3.99. ($1.99 for the 5k training app). Available for iOS, Android, and Windows Phone.

 

 

We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.