Skip to main content

Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: PICTURE BOOKS

• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.

View this collection online

The CCD Collection, PICTURE BOOKS, may be accessed by clicking on the link below.  

When you reach the LIBRARY SEARCH screen in Destiny, click on CATALOGCOPY CATEGORIES.  Select CCD Picture Books to access the collection.

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series

PICTURE BOOK Collection

In this special classification based on format rather than content, ART and STORY combine to create meaning, presenting an enriching choice of aesthetic experiences for young children.  The PICTURE BOOK is a unique art object, a combination of image and idea that adds up to more than the sum of the parts.  Although picture books have the greatest appeal from preschool through grade 3, they hold value for all ages, as beautiful works of art and in connection with many areas of the curriculum.

The books in this "Special Collection" reflect, extend and expand a child's view of the world and understanding of self. They stimulate language development, expose young learners to the structures and forms of literature, and set a child on the path to independent reading.  

                                                                                                           

How this Special Collection came to be ... this story begins in the fall of 1988 in a nonpublic school on the Lower East Side of Manhattan.  From the start, it was built with classic favorites, along with outstanding recent examples of “the rarest kind of best” for NYC's youngest learners.  In 1995 the collection was relocated to St. Aloysius in Central Harlem, where it continued to grow and nurture a diverse population.  Throughout the early years, these unique books were shared with a wider audience through interlibrary loan.  The Collection has now traveled across the river to Park Slope, where it's “mission” to the children of our city continues – stretching minds,  inviting pleasure and delight, recognizing that the world of picture books truly encompasses the whole world.  It has been my privilege to maintain and develop this collection over the past 29 years; I confidently hand it over to a new generation of believers in the power of Story." 
Margaret Dennehy (Librarian at St. Aloysius, recently closed)

How This Collection is Used in My School

          

This CCD collection is valued by librarian, teachers and parents for enjoyment and appreciation of the literature, while also supporting a range of curriculum initiatives, projects and themes.  The pleasure of the shared story is a universal experience, set to inspire, invite reflection and elicit response. The PICTURE BOOK experience is regularly extended through storytelling and author / illustrator studies.  Units explore a variety of traditional, contemporary and multicultural themes.  Activities include art, dramatic, and musical engagement.  The books are regularly enjoyed in read-aloud sessions. 

 

 

Picture books are for all ages

Barnett says that writing a picture book is like writing a play – it gets reinterpreted by every reader, creating an exciting collaborative experience between writer and reader. And a good picture book does not have an age “ceiling.”

The Winners - 2017 Awards

Book cover image: Radiant Child

Book cover image: Lowriders to the Center of the Earth

2017 CALDECOTT AWARD WINNER

2017 CALDECOTT HONOR BOOKS

2017 PURA BELPRE ILLUSTRATOR AWARD

2017 PURA BELPRE ILLUSTRATOR HONORS

2017 GEISEL AWARD WINNER

2017 GEISEL HONOR BOOKS

Lauren Rodriguez, Library Media Specialist 

lrodriguez@sscaparkslope.org

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 

701 Eighth Ave 

Brooklyn, NY 11215

(718) 768-8000

If you are a librarian in a New York City school library, you may contact the curator to inquire about borrowing titles from this collection.

We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.