Skip to main content

Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: Graphic Novels

• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.

This Collection

The Graphic Novel CCD collection collects graphic novels (comics) for middle school students.

Since 2005

New Books for this year...

The Cardboard Kingdom

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity. "A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have." --Kirkus, Starred Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters--and their own inner demons--on one last quest before school starts again. In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be--imagine that! The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS * THE NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL * A TEXAS BLUEBONNET 2019-20 MASTER LIST SELECTION "There's room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme." --Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy "A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum." --Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever

All New, All Different Avengers

The Avengers are dead - long live the Avengers! Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Captain America, Thor, Vision and Iron Man - are living separate lives, not tied to any team but when a threat from beyond the stars targets our world, fate draws them together once more, alongside Nova, Ms. Marvel and Miles Morales, a.k.a. Spider-Man! Collecting: All-New, All-Different Avengers 1-6

Boruto, Vol. 1

Naruto was a young shinobi with an incorrigible knack for mischief. He achieved his dream to become the greatest ninja in his village, and now his face sits atop the Hokage monument. But this is not his story... A new generation of ninja are ready to take the stage, led by Naruto's own son, Boruto! Years have passed since Naruto and Sasuke teamed up to defeat Kaguya, the progenitor of chakra and the greatest threat the ninja world has ever faced. Times are now peaceful and the new generation of shinobi have not experienced the same hardships as their parents. Perhaps that is why Boruto would rather play video games than train. However, one passion does burn deep in this ninja boy, and that is to defeat his neglectful father! 

Anonymous Noise, Vol. 1

Music and longing collide in this ballad of unrequited love! Nino Arisugawa, a girl who loves to sing, experiences her first heart-wrenching goodbye when her beloved childhood friend, Momo, moves away. And after Nino befriends Yuzu, a music composer, she experiences another sad parting! Both boys promised Nino that they would find her one day through her singing, so she holds on to that hope and continues to reach out with her voice. Now in high school, Nino serendipitously reunites with Yuzu, but she yearns to see Momo again...

The Polarshield Project

Jon Kent and Damian "Ian" Wayne are opposite in every way except one--they are the sons of the World's Greatest Heroes! To uncover a global conspiracy, this unlikely dynamic duo will need to learn to trust each other and work together to save the Earth. But who is the mysterious Candace, and what secrets does she hold that could be the key to everything? From New York Times best-selling author Ridley Pearson (Kingdom Keepers) and artist Ile Gonzalez comes the first book in an epic new series that follows the Super Sons of Superman and Batman as they struggle to find their place in a rapidly changing world!

How This Collection is Used in My School

Primarily comics are used as a motivation tool for reading, but some classes have studied graphic novels in their language arts or Art curriculum. Other classes have brought specific comics into the classroom that relate to a curriculum area.

Online Comics & Comics Strips

Common Core Comics

Worried that the common core is excluding comics from the curriculum? It doesn't have to.  Check out these resources.

Destiny Search box

Search the I.S. 278 library catalog for graphic novels.

Search by title, author, or keyword. Types of keyword/subjects: graphic novel, comic, etc.

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

CCD books can be found on the catalog using the Copy Category Search.

Click advanced search.

Click copy category.

Click CCD: Graphic Novels.

Reference Titles

Worth a Thousand Words

This book will detail how and why graphic novels are complex texts with advanced-level vocabulary and how to read and analyze these texts. It also provides research to back up why they're such powerful educational tools. Furthermore it includes practical advice  on how to integrate these books into both ELA and content-area classrooms and provides an extensive list of appropriate graphic novels for K-8 students, lesson suggestions, paired graphic/prose reading suggestions, and links/additional resources for taking these texts further. 

Graphic Novels II

Covering genres from action/adventure and fantasy to horror, science fiction, and superheroes, this guide maps the vast and expanding terrain of graphic novels, describing and organizing titles as well as providing information that will help librarians to build and balance their graphic novel collections and direct patrons to read-alikes. * Introduces users to approximately 1,000 currently popular graphic novels and manga * Organizes titles by genre, subgenre, and theme to facilitate finding read-alikes * Helps librarians build and balance their graphic novel collections

101 Outstanding Graphic Novels

Expert Librarian Stephen Weiner (Rise of the Graphic Novel, The Hellboy Companion, The Will Eisner Companion), with the crowdsourcing help of professionals in the field, from artists to critics to leading comic store owners, has sifted through the bewildering thousands of graphic novels now available to come up with an outstanding, not-to-be-missed 101. Edited by Daniel J. Fingeroth, a writer (Spider-Man) and also an expert on comics (How to Create Comics from Script to Print [TwoMorrows Publishing, 2010]). An unmissable treat for comic fans.

Using Content-Area Graphic Texts for Learning

What counts as literacy has been redefined in today's classrooms. Teachers must address what it means to read and live in a multi-literate world that includes both print text and image text. Focused specifically on young adult graphic novels in the four primary content areas--math, language arts, social studies, and science--Using Content-Area Graphic Texts for Learning: A Guide for Middle-Level Educators by Dr. Meryl Jaffe and Dr. Katie Monnin empowers twenty-first-century, middle-school educators to not only better understand content-area graphic novels, but also teach them. Like their print counterparts, graphic texts reinforce traditional content-area thinking skills like memory, attention, cognition, language learning, and sequencing. Unlike print texts, however, comics and graphic novels reach out to diverse types of literacy learners and their particular reading strengths, making them the perfect, high-quality, literary-level texts for core content-area classrooms. Using Content-Area Graphic Texts for Learning begins with the building blocks of graphic novel terminology 101, moves into a detailed look at how graphic texts specifically help and empower different types of learners, and then branches off into specific chapters for each of four content areas: math, language arts, social studies, and science. Each of these content-area chapters includes: an overview of how graphic novels help students tackle, integrate, and enhance content-area material;  two content-area lesson plans, each utilizing graphic novels in different ways; a demonstration of what that lesson plan is asking students to do, focusing on five learning skills--attention, memory, language, sequencing, and cognition--and how the lesson aligns with the appropriate content area's Common Core Standards; a discussion on how graphic novels help different types of learners succeed in the content-area classrooms; and a list of suggested graphic novels for each content-area classroom.  Jaffe and Monnin more than make the case for using graphic novels as valid young adult literary texts that engage students and meet Common Core State Standards within the content-area classroom. 

Graphic Novels in Your School Library

This dynamic book takes a look at graphic novels, examining how the format has become entwined in our culture, and the ways in which they can be used in the library and in the classroom.

Understanding Manga and Anime

NOT Available at IS 278 but available at BPL. Teens love it. Parents hate it. Librarians are confused by it; and patrons are demanding it. Libraries have begun purchasing both manga and anime, particularly for their teen collections. But the sheer number of titles available can be overwhelming, not to mention the diversity and quirky cultural conventions. In order to build a collection, it is important to understand the media and its cultural nuances. Many librarians have been left adrift, struggling to understand this unique medium while trying to meet patron demands as well as protests. This book gives the novice background information necessary to feel confident in selecting, working with, and advocating for manga and anime collections; and it offers more experienced librarians some fresh insights and ideas for programming and collections.

Understanding Comics

NOT AVAILABLE AT IS 278. BUT AVAILABLE AT BPL.
Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, this innovative comic book provides a detailed look at the history, meaning, and art of comics and cartooning.

Comix Apps

Interested in reading comics on your mobile device? Looking to make comics mobile? These apps will allow you to do just that.

Curator

Esther Keller, Librarian

ekeller3@schools.nyc.gov

JHS 278 Marine Park

1925 Stuart Street

Brooklyn, NY 11229

(718) 375.3523 x2310

If you are a librarian in a New York City school library, you may contact the curator to inquire about borrowing titles from this collection.

Gene Luen Yang

Good Reads

Esther's kids-comics book montage

Dracula Madness
Gary the Pirate
Jellaby: Monster in the City
Coraline
Cirque Du Freak, Vol. 1
Leave It to Chance Volume 1: Shaman's Rain
Leave It To Chance Book 2: Trick Or Threat (Leave It to Chance
Leave It to Chance Volume 3: Monster Madness
Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things
Ninja Baseball Kyuma, Vol. 1
Zig and Wikki in Something Ate My Homework
Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper's Curse
Tiny Tyrant: Volume Two: The Lucky Winner
Zeus: King of the Gods
The Storm in the Barn
Curses! Foiled Again
Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton
Aphrodite: Goddess of Love
The Lunch Witch
El Deafo


Esther's favorite books »
We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.