Skip to main content

Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: Harlem Renaissance

• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.

Harlem Renaissance Collection Celebration June 14, 2018

This Collection . . .

Harlem Renaissance is a collection of resources that celebrates American history through the lens of the Harlem Renaissance.  Jazz, art, poetry, night life are the  __ of the day  A time when the arts were at the top of popular culture  . . .

 

How This Collection is Used in My School

This collection is used to celebrate the town of Harlem, the town where the collection is housed.  Through this collection students are encouraged to use the inquiry process to delve into the rich history of Harlem and how the town is an intricate part of the American story.  Students of all ages, from preschool to adult readers, will be allowed access the resources from a variety academic levels and interest.

The housed resources start the conversation and are used as topic/theme motivators for further inquiry.

 

 

 Schomburg Center                                                                                                                                                                                                  Access the Amsterdam News archives for Primary source documents from the time period.

Destiny Library Catalog

Highlights from the collection

Curator

Ms. Abdulrashid's picture
Ms. Abdulrashid
Contact:
PS/MS 46 Arthur Tappan
2987 Frederick Douglass Blvd.
New York, NY 10039
212-360-1519 Ext. 2101
We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.