Skip to main content

NOVELny: Home

NOVELNY is an online library of literally hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to every New Yorker, free of charge. Students may also access the NOVELny databases through their school library. Th

NOVELny

Novel New York Database Access

FACT SHEET: http://novelnewyork.org/factsheets/noveldb.pdf

REGISTER YOUR SCHOOL HERE: http://www.novelnewyork.org/register.php 

When completing your NOVELny online registration, please make note:

  • Select Metropolitan New York for Library Region.
  • Use the drop down menu to select New York City School Library System under School Library Systems
  • In the IP Range Comments box, please note that IP Ranges in NYC DOE float. 

NOVELny Database List

Search Databases by Subject

Select one of the databases below to search magazines, journals, newspapers, and other reference resources within that database. [Printer-Friendly Database List]

New Yorkers accessing the databases through this portal while in New York will be able to enter the databases via geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation) without entering a driver license number. New Yorkers who are accessing the databases out of state will be given the option to log in using their public library card or New York driver license / New York Non-Driver ID.

Business and Finance

Contents

Business Insights: Essentials

Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers.

General Reference/ School-Oriented

Contents

Research in Context NEW!

Created specifically for middle school students, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more. Research In Context provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Middle school students will benefit from an interface that delivers a combination of the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users as well as the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.

Encyclopedia Britannica NEW!

Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.

• In excess of 100,000 new and revised articles, with contributions from more than 100 Nobel laureates, numerous heads of state, Pulitzer Prize winners, leading professors, and experts in all fields of human endeavor.

• Integration with Britannica ImageQuest, which offers a streamlined ability to explore millions of related images right from the search results page (requires subscriptions to both resources).

• A unique “Article History” feature, which allows users to see every update or editorial change in every article.

• Biography, subject, and contributor browses; e-books and primary sources; thousands of periodicals.

• News feeds from the New York Times and the BBC; editor-selected Web sites; an interactive world atlas; and famous quotations.

• Updated versions of the World Data Analyst and articles from the Britannica Book of the Year—as well as thousands of photographs, videos, tables, graphs, and illustrations. 

• The World Atlas allows students to search thousands of maps, flags, articles and statistics.

Compare Countries offers a unique geography tool that gives quick facts and statistics on any two countries side-by-side

• Escolar Online is the Spanish language version of Britannica

• Available in Elementary, Middle and High School versions with interactive features appropriate to the information needs of multiple age groups 

Kids InfoBits

Contains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.

Health and Medicine

Contents

Health Reference Center Academic

Full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a variety of personal health information sources

   

Multi-Subject

Contents

Academic OneFile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics

Newspapers

Contents

InfoTrac Newsstand

This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers.

New York State Newspapers

A subset of InfoTrac Newsstand, this database includes articles from newspapers from around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-StarNew York Times, New York PostBuffalo News, and Newsday.

 

 

Finding Your NOVEL Web Links

#NOVELNY

We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.