Skip to main content

NYC School Librarian Guidebook: Librarian Responsibilities

A blueprint to the policies, standards, and procedures that enable library personnel to develop, organize, and manage exemplary school library programs.

What Does a School Librarian Do?

FOCUS

TASKS

LEARNING AND TEACHING

Climate Conducive to Learning

  • Creates welcoming and respectful climate in library.
  • Provides for diverse student needs in resources and instruction.
  • Provides opportunities for students to use the library for class-related research, individual investigation, independent reading, and personal inquiry.
  • Sponsors special programs in the library, such as health fairs, career days, and reading motivation programs (e.g., book fairs, book clubs, author visits, book reviewing).
  • Continually rotates, replaces, and updates displays of books and student work to reflect current curricular themes.

Collaborative Planning

  • Collaborates with teachers to plan and implement instructional units that integrate use of the library with classroom curriculum.
  • Documents collaboration with teachers.
  • Participates in school, department, and grade-level curriculum development.
  • Provides teachers with print and non-print resources related to specific units upon request and proactively reaches out to teachers to support their instruction.
  • Facilitates collaboration among classroom teachers.
  • Collaborates with other educators (coaches, technology specialists) as appropriate.

Integrated, Collaborative Teaching

  •    Shares responsibility with teachers for integrating inquiry, information literacy and technology skills into school curriculum.
  • Helps structure student assignments for deeper thinking and research.
  • Teaches collaboratively with classroom teachers whenever possible.
  • Develops and implements reading initiatives to motivate and engage each student in independent reading.

Information Fluency Curriculum

  • Leads the school in developing a plan for integration of information fluency skills throughout the grades and subject areas.
  • Documents the teaching of information fluency skills to ensure that all students have equitable opportunities to develop and practice information fluency.
  • Provides professional development to teachers to investigate how technology and information skills can support curriculum and instruction.

INFORMATION ACCESS AND DELIVERY

Collection Aligned to Curriculum and Student Needs

  • Establishes, maintains and updates an automated catalog.
  • Assesses student and teacher needs and interests.
  • Maintains running list or suggestion box for teachers and students to request materials.
  • Assesses connections between classroom collections and the library.
  • Conducts ongoing collection analysis and development, regularly discarding and adding materials in light of the assessed needs.
  • Continuously reviews professional publications to keep up-to-date on current print and non-print resources.
  • Subscribes to online databases and other electronic resources.
  • Develops and maintains relationships with book jobbers and vendors.

 

Technology

  • Ensures that the library has sufficient working computers connected to the Internet and appropriate software.
  • Stays up-to-date on the latest technologies and their use for teaching and learning.
  • Trains teachers and shares best practices in integrating technology into instruction.
  • Integrates the library into the school’s technology plan.
  • Communicates to students and faculty the ethical and safe use of technology.

Physical Environment / Facilities

  • Organizes the library in logical Dewey Decimal System order for ease of access to resources.
  • Arranges the library for variety of uses by large groups, small groups, and individuals.
  • Enhances usage of the library through clear signage and designation of areas for specific activities (storytelling, research, technology use, etc.).
  • Maintains an orderly environment.
  • Facilitates redesign of the library space when the opportunity arises.

Flexible, Open, Extended, and Equitable Access

  • Develops a scheduling policy that facilitates open and flexible access as well as strong instructional use.
  • Schedules library use and posts current library schedule weekly.
  • Provides open access time every day for students to check out resources.
  • Ensures that all students have public library cards so they can access resources of public library.
  • Advocates for extended library hours (before and after school, Saturday, summer).

Use of Resources and Technology

  • Maintains fair and consistent circulation and use policies.
  • Promotes use of library to teachers, students, and parents to ensure that the library is a vital and active center of learning for the whole school.
  • Documents use of library and library computers by classes and individuals.
  • Pursues support from technology personnel to maintain working and up-to-date computers and Internet access.

PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION

Staffing

  • Recruits, trains, and manages library staff and volunteers.
  • Sets own job-performance goals and documents accomplishments.
  • Collaborates with co-librarians by establishing clear job-sharing responsibilities.

Funding and Budget Management

  • Establishes budget priorities based on assessment of needs, status of library collection, library plan for improvement, and industry trends.
  • Ensures that library budget is allocated and spent each year according to DOE procedures and policies.
  • Maintains budget and expenditure records.
  • Pursues grant opportunities for the library, including integration of the library into content-specific and school-wide grants, as appropriate.

Library Management

  • Develops library vision, mission, and goals with input from administrators, teachers, students, parents and all other stakeholders.
  • Uses the Library Learning Walk to assess library assets and needs and develop strategic plan for improvement.
  • Develops overall library policies and procedures.
  • Documents and maintains records on all aspects of the library program.
  • Serves on the school leadership team and integrates the library program throughout the school’s Comprehensive Education Plan.

Professional Development

  • Attends Office of Library Services programs, meetings and conferences.
  • Attends regional library meetings and workshops.
  • Attends local, state or national professional development workshops.
  • Participates in electronic discussion lists, such as NYCSLIST and LM_Net.
  • Actively networks with other school and public librarians.
  • Coordinates professional development opportunities for teachers on technology, information fluency and inquiry in order to build a professional learning community.

Library Advocacy and Support

  • Effectively communicates the vision for the school library to the faculty, staff, parents and community.
  • Communicates regularly with staff, students, and parents about library resources and programs in various forms (e.g., staff meetings, newsletters, student newspaper, displays, Web page).
  • Develops an ongoing advocacy program for library. 
We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.