Skip to main content

NYC School Librarian Guidebook: Free Digital Content for Instruction

A blueprint to the policies, standards, and procedures that enable library personnel to develop, organize, and manage exemplary school library programs.

DOE Specific Resources

There are many varied needs within the Department of Education  to put accessible, differentiated, translated, content in front of students.  There are also many resources available to make content accessible for teachers - this gathers up a sample of our most recommended resources and brings them together in one location - support materials are on these resources respective libguides.  

Curated NovelNY Database List

General Reference/ School-Oriented

Contents

Grades 6-12 Research in Context 

Middle school level content with applications in High School

Grades K-12 Encyclopedia Britannica - School Edition

K-12 Resource (resources are published at 3 different reading levels) and has a lesson plan browser/creator

Grades K-12 Encyclopedia Britannica - Escolar Encyclopedia Britannica School Edition in Spanish - has no lesson plan creator

Grades K-5 Kids InfoBits

K-5 Resource for content

Grades 7-12 Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Middle to High School Level Content

Multi-Subject

Contents

Grades 9-12+ Academic OneFile

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources

Grades 7-12+ General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics

Newspapers

Contents

Grades 6-12+ - InfoTrac Newsstand

This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers.

Grades 6-12+ New York State Newspapers

A subset of InfoTrac Newsstand, this database includes articles from newspapers from around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-StarNew York Times, New York PostBuffalo News, and Newsday.

 

 

DOE Specific Links

We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.