Skip to main content

NYC School Librarian Guidebook: Cooperative Collection Development (CCD)

A blueprint to the policies, standards, and procedures that enable library personnel to develop, organize, and manage exemplary school library programs.

Cooperative Collection Development

Null

In support of student achievement, the New York City School Library System maintains a Cooperative Collection Development (CCD) program promoting resource sharing opportunities among member libraries. The Cooperative Collection Development program is funded by the New York State Education Department.

The goal of CCD is to support curricular and instructional processes of schools by promoting cooperative planning, selection, evaluation and sharing of specialized library media resources. 

How Do I Use a CCD Collection?

CCD collections are open to all students, librarians, and teachers in NYC public and nonpublic schools.  There are a variety of ways librarians can interact with CCD collections.  Here are some recommendations: 

  • Connect with the CCD librarian.  Each subject guide includes contact information for the subject specialist.  CCD librarians are well-versed on their topic area and can answer topic questions, help guide librarians in collection development, and serve as a resource and expert.
  • Browse and borrow a CCD title.  All CCD collections are available to search through the NYC shared catalog at https://library.nycenet.edu/. First, enter the name or number of the school library you would like to search.  Then, click on the appropriate school library catalog and proceed with your search. Contact the CCD librarian to determine individual borrowing policies. 
  • Collection Development.  CCD Libguides offer recommended print titles and some include eBooks accessible to New York City public and nonpublic schools. Use these recommendations to build your own collection on the subject matter. 

Social Libraries: Promoting Library Programs

Loading ...
We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.