Skip to main content

NYC School Librarian Guidebook: Career Development

A blueprint to the policies, standards, and procedures that enable library personnel to develop, organize, and manage exemplary school library programs.

School Library Certification Programs

Below is an alphabetized list of NYSED approved SLMS preperation programs.  If you have any questions about any of the programs, please contact the University or College directly.

Long Island University

Program Description from the University: The Palmer School of Library and Information Science is one of the most distinguished schools of library and information science in the country. With three program locations throughout the New York metropolitan area as well as online and blended courses, the Palmer School offers a broad portfolio of degree and advanced certificate programs taught by a faculty of distinguished scholars, researchers and hands-on practitioners. We prepare you for careers for a digital world and help you skillfully harness the way information is preserved, valued and delivered to every facet of society.

Type of Program: Face-to-Face, Online, and Blended

Face to Face Location: CW Post Campus - Brookville, NY

Approximate Tution and Fees for 2013-2014*: $3,600 per 3-hour course

Website: http://www.liu.edu/palmer/

*This is an approxiamate cost and you should verfiy this information with the university.

 

Pratt

Program Description from the University: Our diverse programs prepare students for exciting and challenging careers as information professionals and digital innovators in libraries, archives, museums, and beyond. Building upon Pratt's national reputation as a leading school in art and design, we bring creativity and innovation to Library and Information Science (LIS) education. Our emphasis on cultural informatics focuses our curriculum around the convergence of culture, technology, and information across a wide range of environments, both physical and digital. Our beautiful Manhattan facility offers cutting-edge seminar/lab classrooms designed for participatory, hands-on learning experiences and access to NYC's world-class cultural and educational institutions. Through innovative internships and educational programs, our students are prepared to lead today's exciting and expanding information society.

Type of Program: Face-to-Face

Face to Face Location: Manhattan, NY

Approximate Tution and Fees for 2013-2014*: $5,000 per 3-hour course

Website: https://www.pratt.edu/academics/information-and-library-sciences/

*This is an approxiamate cost and you should verfiy this information with the university.

Queens College

Program Description from the University: The school prepares library and information service professionals to meet the information and literacy needs of the New York metropolitan region and beyond. It provides a quality education, in accordance with the prevailing state and national standards for the discipline.The school prepares graduates to serve a broad segment of the metropolitan area’s multicultural, multiethnic, and multilingual population in a variety of institutional and informational settings. Through research, publication, and other forms of scholarly activity, the school contributes and transmits new knowledge to society and the profession.   

Type of Program: Face-to-Face, Online, and Blended

Face to Face Location: Queens, NY

Approximate Tution and Fees for 2013-2014*: $1,275 per 3-hour course

Website: http://www.qc.cuny.edu/Academics/Degrees/DSS/gslis/Pages/default.aspx?

*This is an approxiamate cost and you should verfiy this information with the university.

Syracuse University

Program Description from the University: The Palmer School of Library and Information Science is one of the most distinguished schools of library and information science in the country. With three program locations throughout the New York metropolitan area as well as online and blended courses, the Palmer School offers a broad portfolio of degree and advanced certificate programs taught by a faculty of distinguished scholars, researchers and hands-on practitioners. We prepare you for careers for a digital world and help you skillfully harness the way information is preserved, valued and delivered to every facet of society.

Type of Program: Face-to-Face, Online**, and Blended

Face to Face Location: Syracuse, NY

Approximate Tution and Fees for 2013-2014*: $5,000 per 3-hour course

Website: http://ischool.syr.edu/

*This is an approxiamate cost and you should verfiy this information with the university.

** The online program does require a two-week on campus residency in the summer in Syracuse.

St. John's University

Program Description from the University: Librarians are guides to the Information Age — dynamic individuals with a passion for learning, trained in theory, practice and technology. They are the ones who help us locate, organize, interpret and use the vast quantities of information literally at our fingertips. The Division of Library and Information Science (DLIS) at St. John’s University prepares graduate students for careers in libraries and other information centers. We offer courses at our New York campuses in Queens and Oakdale, Long Island, and online. Accredited by the American Library Association (ALA), our programs draw a wide range of students — men and women representing many ethnic, social and economic backgrounds. They are united by an enthusiasm for librarianship and a desire to help others by achieving excellence in this dynamic profession.

Type of Program: Face-to-Face, Online, and Blended

Face to Face Location: Queens, NY

Approximate Tution and Fees for 2013-2014*: $3,900 per 3-hour course

Website: http://www.stjohns.edu/academics/schools-and-colleges/st-johns-college-liberal-arts-and-sciences/library-and-information-science

*This is an approxiamate cost and you should verfiy this information with the university.

University at Buffalo

Program Description from the University: The Department of Library and Information Studies has an approved competency-based program registered by the New York State Education Department and is authorized to recommend students for certification for the Library Media Specialist, K-12 Initial Certificate. All library media specialists courses are offered online.

Type of Program: Face-to-Face, Online, and Blended

Face to Face Location: Buffalo, NY

Approximate Tution and Fees for 2013-2014*: $1,800 per 3-hour course

Website: http://gse.buffalo.edu/programs/mls

*This is an approxiamate cost and you should verfiy this information with the university.

Searchable Database of Accredited Programs by the American Library Association

Searchable Database of ALA-accredited Programs
Searchable directory of accredited programs in library studies and school library media.  Includes database of distance learning programs throughout the United States and Canada.
 To limit your search to only accredited school library media programs, click off the "school library media program" selection box.

We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.