Cooperative Collection Development -- CCD: LGBTQ Studies
• The School Library System (SLS) Cooperative Collection Development Plan is developed as part of the resource sharing component of the plan of service.
Sora Titles
This collection . . .
This collection is for everyone in New York, and includes the following:
- Materials about and for LGBTQ+ students & adults
- Resources on contemporary and historial LGBTQ+ issues such as gay marriage & the gay liberation movement
- Services for librarians who need to add LGBTQ+ materials to their collections.
LGBTQIA+ Collection in Sora!
Sources for book reviews & book lists
- I'm Here, I'm Queer, Now What do I Read?Lee Wind provides an immense number of reviews (some submitted by authors), including manga. Of particular note is a series of lists on the left-hand side of the blog which "sort" books into categories--helpful if you need to fill gaps in your collection.
- GLBTRT: Rainbow BooksBook lists from the last decade. An excellent resource.
- The Stonewall Book AwardsThe first and most enduring award for GLBTQ books.
- Lambda Literary Reviews, Features, & InterviewsLamba Literary is a great resource to follow for up-to-date releases of young adult and adult writing about and for the LGBTQI community.
Curator
Andrea Swenson, Librarian
If you are a librarian in a New York City school library, you may contact the curator to inquire about this collection.
NYCPS is committed to creating and supporting learning environments that reflect the diversity of New York City. To ensure that our website serves the needs of everyone, it follows the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0, Level AA. That means the sites work for people with disabilities, including those who are blind and partially sighted.
We are committed to creating accessible digital experiences for all website visitors. If you require assistance with any documents on our site, please email libraries@schools.nyc.gov