Skip to main content

Teacher Sets: NYPL School Based Support

This guide is designed to give you an overview of MyLibraryNYC in terms of features, training, communication and support.

NYPL Branch Librarian Support

 

NYPL Menu of Services

 

BRONX

Tessa Hamilton 347-254-1051 / tessahamilton@nypl.org  (East Bronx)

Elizabeth Devora 347-403-3425 / elizabethdevora@nypl.org (Central Bronx)

Tiffany James  917-873-3745 tiffanyjames@nypl.org  (West Bronx)

 

MANHATTAN

Ariel Birdoff 917-929-7570 / arielbirdoff@nypl.org (West/East Manhattan)

Thomas Knowlton 347-244-9754 / thomasknowlton@nypl.org (Lower/East Manhattan)

 

 

STATEN ISLAND

Amber Certain / ambercertain@nypl.org

 

Project Manager

Shauntee Burns  917-856-8923 shaunteeburns@nypl.org

 

 

MANHATTAN

Ariel Birdoff 917-929-7570 / arielbirdoff@nypl.org (West/East Manhattan)

Outreach Support

Welcome/Teacher Sets/Card Registration

Contact your outreach librarian to schedule a time when the two of you can speak to as many teachers as possible, i.e. faculty day/meeting. Co-present with librarian to this audience. In this presentation, cover all the general information teachers need to use the program such as: the benefits of the educator card, and how to find and browse through the teacher set offering, pick-up and delivery procedures. Demonstrate how to place a hold, and what to expect in terms of notifications. Provide examples of sets that would be useful for their students, i.e. elementary, middle school, or high school which you have ordered to arrive before the presentation.

NYPL Resource Instruction

Work with librarian to schedule a time when you can speak to as many teachers as possible, i.e. faculty day/meeting.  Co-present with public librarian on how to place holds, create lists, use tags and shelves. Show teachers the databases useful for their students, i.e. elementary, middle school, or high school.  Show teachers how to access the databases and provide examples of how they can be used in the classroom.

Fostering Collaboration

Schedule follow-up visits with your outreach librarian for card application pickup/delivery.  Co-present on the public library catalog to students and/or parents, events happening in the branch, etc.

We are working to make this website easier to access for people with disabilities, and will follow the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0. If you need assistance with a particular page or document on our current site, please contact mdodes2@schools.nyc.gov to request assistance.